help !! virus!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-15-2006, 09:17 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
allan16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 373
Default help !! virus!!

what to do when a virus won't let you open msconfig or the registry...

and also it wont let me open norton antivirus
__________________

allan16 is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 09:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

download ewido, install, update, scan, then reboot in safe mode scan again

http://www.ewido.net/en/
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 09:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
jbc
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 225
Default

I have seen this type of problem from Norton thousands of times. Ocasionally Norton will see a virus and will disable itself and not allow a re-enable or runing of the software. Its sort of Norton's method of running and hidding. I have recently moved to Mc Afee and I am yet to see Mc Afee run and hide from anything. My advice is to purcahse Mc Afee or Zone Alarm's Security suite.
jbc is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 10:49 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 81
Default

do an online scan
Emperor is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 03:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
PeugeotEnthusiast
 
NayNay1991x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Leicester
Posts: 2,081
Send a message via MSN to NayNay1991x
Default

lol first things first download a better Antivirus than you allready have as JBC said on his comment... Norton takes up to much Memory and it isnt really good at picking up Viruses here are some links to some really good antiviruses and dont use much Memory:

AVG Free Edition

Avast Home Edition

KAV ( Kasper Sky Antivirus )

If not do some Online scans

Good Luck
__________________
http://instagram.com/nay206pug#
NayNay1991x is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 05:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jbc
I have seen this type of problem from Norton thousands of times. Ocasionally Norton will see a virus and will disable itself and not allow a re-enable or runing of the software. Its sort of Norton's method of running and hidding. I have recently moved to Mc Afee and I am yet to see Mc Afee run and hide from anything. My advice is to purcahse Mc Afee or Zone Alarm's Security suite.
norton's code is so old that anybody can crack it
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 04:49 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2
Default

format c:\
__________________

isit is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.