Help with video card driver! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-31-2005, 07:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 10
Default Help with video card driver!

I'm a beginner when it comes to computers, so please be patient with me. ^_^;;

I know that my video card needs software, but I believe I just unistalled it. I had ATI, but after getting some updates off the internet, it began acting funny. A window showing me ATI folders would pop up every time I logged onto my computer. I knew something was wrong, so I uninstalled ATI. Is there anyway I could download this software back onto my computer? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

EDIT: Also, I noticed that when I open up the DirectX Diagnostic Toolbox and click on the display tab, all the fields under "Device" come up as "n/a", when before I unistalled ATI, each of those fields had some information in it. I just thought that extra information might help some people figure out how to help me.
__________________

dysis is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 03:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 229
Send a message via Yahoo to psman
Default

To know if your driver has been uninstalled just try playing a 3d game..

if the game crashes then you need to install a driver
the good thing is that with video drivers all nVidia cards Can be run by the same driver from nvidia.com or omegadrivers.net the same for ATI

try to install the driver normally if you had a problem we will do it the hard way PM me
__________________

__________________
You... Went Beyond
You lost it all.
Why did you go there
psman is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 03:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

so I'll assume you are on XP, but I'll post the other just incase..
ATI XP:
https://support.ati.com/ics/support/...ge&folderID=27
ATI Win2k:
https://support.ati.com/ics/support/...uestionID=3374
Nvidia
http://www.nvidia.com/content/drivers/drivers.asp
By your post I'm assuming also that is was an ATI card, so I would use the first two based on your OS (operating system)
Inaris is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 05:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

What kind of ATi card is it?
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 08:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 10
Default

The thing is, I'm not sure what kind of card I have. I believe I have a Radeon 9000 or so... I treid looking for my video card in the Device Manager. My device manager keeps telling me I have two "Video Controllers"; just a plain "Video Controller" and a "Video Controller (VGA Compatible)." When I click on one of them for more information, it tells me that the device is not "configured properly."

I'm pretty sure it's not normal to have two video controllers - is it? (Am I even looking at the right thing if I want to find my video card?)

Thank you guys for your help, by the way. Once I find out what card I have, I can just go to the one of the sites you guys mentioned (the one compatible with my card, of course ) and download the driver, right?

EDIT: Yup, I have Windows XP. ^_^ And, yes, I have a game that I tried playing recently - it crashed, unfortunately, so I'm pretty sure I unistalled the driver. I think the computer is using the generic video card driver because the screen doesn't look the way it used to.
dysis is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 08:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

sound like you might have an all in wonder card. does it have a cable connection?
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 08:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 10
Default

I don't know if it has a cable connection... How can I check for that?

EDIT: I also tried the MS-DOS prompt to find out the type of card I have. I typed in "debug
-d c000:0040", but I didn't get information about my video card. Then I typed in "-d c000:0090", and I learned that the card was made by ATI Technologies, and that's about all i know so far. The rest I didn't understand, although I have it written down if it turns out to be important.
dysis is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 10:37 PM   #8 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

this kinda look like it except with a coaxial cable connector

this is one
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 01:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

download the ATI Radeon drivers for XP and install that. You should be ok from there. The two video controller thing is related to it multiple outputs. I have several ATI cards that do that and it's for the dual head output in my case.
Hope that helps you get going...
Inaris is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 01:17 PM   #10 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Check this out
Attached Images
File Type: jpg debug copy.jpg (65.1 KB, 421 views)
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.