Help upgrading to Windows XP! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-06-2004, 05:40 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 24
Default

Ok I found it and downloaded it, and this is what it said:

First pop up- The Windows2000-KB835732-X86-ENU[1].EXE file is missing export NTDLL: NtShutdownSystem.

Next window said- Access to the specified device, path, or file is denied
__________________

Fernando1378 is offline  
Old 10-06-2004, 05:41 PM   #12 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

do a google for sasser fix/patch
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-06-2004, 05:48 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 24
Default

Just searched google. I tried to get it from 3 different sites and they all said the same thing.

Edit: the only difference was it said "WindowsXP-KB835732" instead of "Windows2000-KB835732"
Fernando1378 is offline  
Old 10-06-2004, 07:22 PM   #14 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 422
Default

try these

the first 3 should cover everything
http://www.kaspersky.com/removaltools
vance43211 is offline  
Old 10-06-2004, 07:39 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 24
Default

Thanks, should I run them under normal mode or safe mode? Or both?
Fernando1378 is offline  
Old 10-06-2004, 08:47 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

They were designed to be used under normal mode I'd imagine.
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 10-06-2004, 10:50 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 24
Default

Ok I ran all three of them under normal mode, then installed XP again. When it restarts for the first time on XP, a window comes out and said; LSA Shell (Export Version) encountered a problem and had to be closed.

It does that about 2-3 times, then the "C:\WINDOWS\System32\lsass.exe stopped working unexpectedly" comes up and it restarts itself.
Fernando1378 is offline  
Old 10-07-2004, 04:00 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 24
Default

Anybody?
Fernando1378 is offline  
Old 10-07-2004, 05:14 PM   #19 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 422
Default

run in safe mode with networking (so you can connect to internet) first as safe mode can delete any file.

new viruses tries to impersonate crictial windows file so you can't delete them

after run an updated norton still in safe mode to make sure everything is gone

now if that don't work
take your hard drive out to another computer and use parttition magic to do a secure data erase on it (any 3rd party secure delete program should work)
vance43211 is offline  
Old 10-07-2004, 05:23 PM   #20 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 309
Send a message via Yahoo to sippin codeine
Default

If you send me your computer, i'll fix it for 30 bucks.
__________________

__________________
**[System specs]**

Delphi Enterprise 6 - 7
VB 6.0 - 2005 EE
sippin codeine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.