Help with Unblocking Command Prompt! Help! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-22-2005, 02:24 PM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

to disable

User Key: [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Wind ows\System]
Value Name: DisableCMD
Data Type: REG_DWORD (DWORD Value)
Value Data: (0 = default, 1 = disabled, 2 = disabled but allow batch)

http://www.microsoft.com/resources/d...en-us/cmd.mspx
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 03:53 PM   #12 (permalink)
B37
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 17
Default

Works! Thanks so much dude.
__________________

B37 is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 03:58 PM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Thumbs up

Anytime...
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 03:10 PM   #14 (permalink)
B37
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 17
Default

Warez I think I PMed you on my new problem. Now CMD says the authing is bad because he blocked the site under C://Windows/System32/Drivers/etc/hosts. I usually could change the settings but it says "Cannot save 'hosts', talk to your system admin (me and bro)."
B37 is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 03:23 PM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

The HOSTS file is a non-extension file found in this location:

C:\Windows\System32\Drivers\ETC\HOSTS XP

C:\WINNT\System32\Drivers\ETC\HOSTS Windows 2000

C:\Windows Windows 98 and Millennium


Two ways to fix...rename and replace or edit the original:

1. Rename and Replace HOSTS file (recommended)

Open Windows Explorer: type the word explorer at Start/Run box and click OK:

Find this file: (XP systems)
C:\Windows\system32\Drivers\ETC\HOSTS file

Rename the file HOSTS to HOSTS.OLD. (a fresh new HOSTS file will be created when you restart Windows). Later you can delete the HOSTS.OLD file when things are back to normal.

2. Edit HOSTS file:

To open and view the HOSTS file to doublecheck for bad entries, left button double click on the HOSTS file. A message will appear saying Windows can't open the file. Check the circle at the bottom entitled:

Select the program from a list.

Now click OK. In the next window....Scroll down in programs until you see Notepad and select it and click OK.

If you see this line below the header info:

127.0.0.1 localhost

....And nothing below it then you have not been hijacked.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 06:18 PM   #16 (permalink)
B37
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 17
Default

I can't seem to figure out how to work this. I tried editing (which usually works) but here's what it says:

B37 is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 06:46 PM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Is this XP Pro? If so can you get into gpedit.msc from run?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 07:32 PM   #18 (permalink)
B37
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 17
Default

It's XP Home Edition, but yes I can get into gpedit.msc.
B37 is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 07:48 PM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Are you sure it Home? And you can access gpedit.msc? This tool is only on Pro reason being Home is not designed to connect to a domain
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 07:54 PM   #20 (permalink)
B37
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 17
Default

Yes, I can acess it.
__________________

B37 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.