help with tweaking firefox - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-04-2006, 12:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 220
Default help with tweaking firefox

ok so it seems it's all laid out here nicely:

http://codebetter.com/blogs/darrell..../28/48720.aspx

but I can't figure out how to access the user files. Are they in Windows? The registry? I can't even find them when I do the about:config.

I also tried finetune
http://www.totalidea.com/content/fir...une-index.html

but would like to access the files manually.
__________________

Jake is offline  
Old 10-04-2006, 12:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 829
Send a message via ICQ to Jam3s-Zer0 Send a message via AIM to Jam3s-Zer0 Send a message via Yahoo to Jam3s-Zer0
Default

download fasterfox..i'm sure it auto does all that for you
__________________

Jam3s-Zer0 is offline  
Old 10-04-2006, 01:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Oops. Delete me.
The General is offline  
Old 10-04-2006, 01:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: /usr/root/mn/us
Posts: 1,118
Default

Just type about:config int he address bar
__________________

Its a frigging Laptop, not a Labtop!!!!
bla!! is offline  
Old 10-04-2006, 01:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 220
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bla!!
Just type about:config int he address bar
OK I see now- I was just confused by the user_pref prefix that doesn't show in about:config.

edit- turns out I didn't have to change anything manually- either finetune or fasterfox already did it.
Jake is offline  
Old 10-04-2006, 01:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 829
Send a message via ICQ to Jam3s-Zer0 Send a message via AIM to Jam3s-Zer0 Send a message via Yahoo to Jam3s-Zer0
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Jake
I doubt that fasterfox does all this btw.
Why is that then?
Jam3s-Zer0 is offline  
Old 10-04-2006, 06:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Check out the OP in this thread as well:
http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=74597
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.