help and support wont start - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-13-2005, 01:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 26
Default help and support wont start

hi
i am a novis,dont know if i am in the right forum ,
my problem is when i click help and support in start nothing happens,
i dont get any error messages ive checked its on automatic and clicked the start still cant start it please help
thanks joe
__________________

sleepyjoe is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 01:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 26
Default sorry

forgot to say running XP sp2 thanks
__________________

sleepyjoe is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 04:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

run spyware/virus scans
office politics is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 04:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 432
Default

Have a look here.
tribalsun is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 04:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 808
Default

do you have a firewall, check that
derrmc is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 08:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Sounds like a lovely sp2 problem....try uninstalling sp2 and see what happens. You can always re-intall sp2 if that update "rings your bell!".
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 06-14-2005, 12:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 26
Default

thank you all for your help,tribalsun i clicked your link and downloaded the help and support,where before i was not getting a error massage i am now,it says windows cannot find helpctr.exe i have run spywere and virus scan, is there something wrong with the registry.as i said i am a novis so please explain so i can understand
thanks joe
sleepyjoe is offline  
Old 06-14-2005, 12:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 26
Default

found registry helpctr.exe right reads c:\winnt\pchealth\helpctr\binaries\helpctr.exe should winnt read windows whot is winnt
__________________

sleepyjoe is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.