Help with super slow operating computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-11-2006, 12:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 22
Send a message via AIM to Will938
Default Help with super slow operating computer

So after only a year quite a few files in XP were corrupted and I was forced to reformat/reinstall.

The install failed twice, and the third time I got onto the setup screen. It took literally FIVE hours for it to go through the processes that should take no longer than 40 minutes.

Ok, so now it takes 30 minutes to start up the computer to the point where the taskbar icons are all operational, it takes forever to load any programs or install anything.

Though sometimes it operates lightning fast for certain operations.

I wouldn't think it was an issue with the install CD because I used it last time. Couldn't be a virus or spyware because its a fresh install...and it took forever to install windows itself. So yeah, could the hard drive just slow down like that?

What do you guys think?
__________________

Will938 is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 01:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 139
Send a message via AIM to X2Xtreme360
Default

what are the specs of the PC?
__________________

X2Xtreme360 is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 01:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 584
Default

check you pc battery i think that may need re-seating cos that happened with my pc but i am not sure
__________________
<img src=http://img3.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/b4b225c12f.png border=0 alt="Free Image Hosting"></a>
TimBlanchard is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 01:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 139
Send a message via AIM to X2Xtreme360
Default

Just curious, but how would your battery cause problems within the OS? All the battery does is remember BIOS settings and clock settings, but after the OS is loaded the CPU takes over.
X2Xtreme360 is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 01:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 584
Default

sorry i don't know its just what my dad did?
__________________
<img src=http://img3.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/b4b225c12f.png border=0 alt="Free Image Hosting"></a>
TimBlanchard is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 02:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

You want to give us some information about your computer spec, and also, if your computer is suffering performance like that, it could be that your hard drive or your RAM is going bad.
Law is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 03:14 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 22
Send a message via AIM to Will938
Default

It took literally 45 minutes to save the file from the dxdiag, so I'll just copy paste it instead of try to upload it...btw the memory is two 1GB sticks of OZ dual channel 400. The HD with windows on it is about 3 years old, but its a 30GB Western Digital, same one I installed windows on before.

------------------
System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 9/11/2006, 20:21:14
Machine name: WILL-BAF3F41203
Operating System: Windows XP Professional (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 2 (2600.xpsp_sp2_rtm.040803-2158)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: System manufacturer
System Model: System Product Name
BIOS: Phoenix - Award BIOS v6.00PG
Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 3800+, MMX, 3DNow (2 CPUs), ~2.0GHz
Memory: 2048MB RAM
Page File: 188MB used, 3751MB available
Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
DxDiag Version: 5.03.2600.2180 32bit Unicode


---------------
Display Devices
---------------
Card name: NVIDIA GeForce 7800 GT
Manufacturer: NVIDIA
Chip type: GeForce 7800 GT
DAC type: Integrated RAMDAC
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0092&SUBSYS_030110DE&REV_A1
Display Memory: 256.0 MB
Current Mode: 1280 x 1024 (32 bit) (60Hz)
Monitor: Plug and Play Monitor
Monitor Max Res: 1600,1200
Driver Name: nv4_disp.dll
Driver Version: 6.14.0010.9147 (English)
DDI Version: 9 (or higher)
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Driver Date/Size: 8/11/2006 21:42:52, 4496128 bytes



------------------------
Disk & DVD/CD-ROM Drives
------------------------
Drive: C:
Free Space: 24.9 GB
Total Space: 28.6 GB
File System: NTFS
Model: WDC WD300EB-00CPF0

Drive: D:
Free Space: 5.3 GB
Total Space: 238.5 GB
File System: NTFS
Model: WDC WD2500JS-00MHB0





Let me know if you need anything else.
Will938 is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 03:45 AM   #8 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

wipe the drive clean with powermax. then reinstall. it sounds like you got a bootsector virus
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 04:27 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 22
Send a message via AIM to Will938
Default

outstanding, I went from being fed up to swapping hard drives, reinstalling windows, and getting the internet going in about 40 minutes. And it once again is extremely fast

Thanks for all your help guys!
__________________

Will938 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.