Help section in software will not run - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-14-2006, 09:30 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 240
Default Help section in software will not run

The help section in many different programs will not work, the section on the right(which displays the info) always comes up as "this page cannot be displayed" and then all the other stuff(like what appears on IE etc). this happens for every topic on every different help section.
__________________

Chris_PC is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 12:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

so as soon as you click on help, its give you the blank page?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 12:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 240
Default

The first thing it sais is:


Action canceled

Internet Explorer was unable to link to the Web page you requested. The page might be temporarily unavailable.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Please try the following:

Click the Refresh button, or try again later.

If you have visited this page previously and you want to view what has been stored on your computer, click File, and then click Work Offline.

For information about offline browsing with Internet Explorer, click the Help menu, and then click Contents and Index.




Internet Explorer


Then, whenever i click on any of the topics it sais:


The page cannot be displayed

The page you are looking for is currently unavailable. The Web site might be experiencing technical difficulties, or you may need to adjust your browser settings.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Please try the following:

Click the Refresh button, or try again later.

If you typed the page address in the Address bar, make sure that it is spelled correctly.

To check your connection settings, click the Tools menu, and then click Internet Options. On the Connections tab, click Settings. The settings should match those provided by your local area network (LAN) administrator or Internet service provider (ISP).
See if your Internet connection settings are being detected. You can set Microsoft Windows to examine your network and automatically discover network connection settings (if your network administrator has enabled this setting).
Click the Tools menu, and then click Internet Options.
On the Connections tab, click LAN Settings.
Select Automatically detect settings, and then click OK.
Some sites require 128-bit connection security. Click the Help menu and then click About Internet Explorer to determine what strength security you have installed.
If you are trying to reach a secure site, make sure your Security settings can support it. Click the Tools menu, and then click Internet Options. On the Advanced tab, scroll to the Security section and check settings for SSL 2.0, SSL 3.0, TLS 1.0, PCT 1.0.
Click the Back button to try another link.



Cannot find server or DNS Error
Internet Explorer
Chris_PC is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 12:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Unintall IE and then reinstall

do through add/remove>add/remove windows components in control panel
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 12:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 240
Default

Ive removed it but it sais that it only removes ACCESS from the start menu and desktop, ive reinstalled it but It still doesnt work
Chris_PC is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 12:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

you need to recheck it
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 12:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 240
Default

sorry, i edited the post ive got it back but it still doesnt work.
PS quick reply lol
Chris_PC is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 12:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

so if you open adobe, go to help, you cant see anything?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 12:48 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 240
Default

That works, and so does firefox help, they seem to be different types of help. IE, My g15 keyboard software etc dont work
Chris_PC is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 12:51 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

have you tried to reinstall some of your programs?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.