help, rundll.exe has no association - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-25-2006, 11:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default help, rundll.exe has no association

"C:\windows\system32\rundll32.exe

This file does not have a program associated with it for performing this action. Create an association in the folder options control panel."

Pretty much nothing works beyond loading windows and internet explorer. It all happened after installing Norton from norton's website but something went wrong. I can't uninstall norton though.

So what can I do? Or am I screwed?
__________________

dario03 is offline  
Old 09-25-2006, 11:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

can you boot into safemode and remove it?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 09-26-2006, 12:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default

No. And I can't turn on programs so system restore is out.
dario03 is offline  
Old 09-26-2006, 12:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave
Default

Try china.
Powerslave is offline  
Old 09-26-2006, 08:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

last known good configuration?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 09-26-2006, 08:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 45
Default

i'll assume your using xp, if worse comes to worse, windows xp cd has a repair feature....it will repair all of xp's default files but will retain all your files and settings

you said windows and IE loads...can you access most things in it? if so i'd go to regedit in runbox and remove all registry files associated to norton by using search function, then trying to delete the norton folder itself in the programs folder, also open msconfig in runbox and remove antyhing associated to norton...gl
__________________
d-c-y-p-h-u-r-e
dcyphure is offline  
Old 09-26-2006, 11:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default

I can't open the run command. It just gives the same association error. I can however load safe mode with the command prompt.
dario03 is offline  
Old 09-27-2006, 07:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 45
Default

just try to remove norton as much as you can, especially from startup/services and programs folder
__________________

__________________
d-c-y-p-h-u-r-e
dcyphure is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.