Help Restoring Ghost Image from partition - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-14-2004, 07:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 5
Question Help Restoring Ghost Image from partition

I currently have a setup where i have 2 partitions. 1:1 is data and 1:2 is where i would keep the ghost backup

I am trying to make an automatic ghost restore cd that gets the image from the second partition.

I have tried the following command but it does not work.

ghost.exe -clone,mode=pload,src=1:2\ghost\winxp.gho:1,dst=1:1

The error i get is that it can not open the image file.

All directories are correct where the image is and the filename is correct.

Can anyone tell me what part of my command is incorrect?
Hopfully it is actually possible to load an image from another partition like this.

Thanks
__________________

walter83 is offline  
Old 12-14-2004, 07:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

these are not NTFS partitions are they?
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Old 12-14-2004, 07:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 5
Default

The first partition is ntfs and reads fine in ghost as 1:1,
The drive with the image (1:2) is fat32.
walter83 is offline  
Old 12-14-2004, 08:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

you just answer your own question, format the second partition to Ntfs

ghost 2003 will overite both partitions on the same hard drive and make just one partition. with 2003 ghost, you need 2 seperate physical partitions.
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 12-14-2004, 08:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 5
Default

Y would that stop it from reading the image...??? That makes no sense at all.
walter83 is offline  
Old 12-14-2004, 08:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 5
Default

And i do have 2 partitions... 1:1 and 1:2 as stated above
walter83 is offline  
Old 12-14-2004, 11:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

walter83 did you use my directions from the TF tutorial?:

http://www.techist.com/computer_arti...store-disk.php

just curious, your script looks very similiar. I beleive your problem lies here:

ghost.exe -clone,mode=pload,src=1:2\ghost\winxp.gho:1,dst=1:1

that is telling ghost to use the image file called winxp.gho from inside a folder called ghost. lets assume your 1:2 is your FAT32 drive. did you name your ghost image winxp.gho and did you stick that inside a folder called "ghost"?

can not open the image file means it cannot locate your winxp.gho file in the location you specified in your script.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 12-14-2004, 11:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

walter83 also are you using ghost version 2003 or later? any older version will not be able to access any ntfs volume to restore the image. you can find out what version you have by doing this:

run that boot cd you did and at the point where it gives you the error again hit "escape" key. it will put you back into DOS. type ghost and hit enter to take you back into ghost. the first screen shows you the ghost program's version
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 12-14-2004, 11:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 5
Default

Yes. That is the guide i used when doing this project.
I have the winxp.gho located in the ghost directory on 1:2


Does it only work with particular versions of ghost?

I am using ghost 7.5 i think.
walter83 is offline  
Old 12-16-2004, 01:09 AM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

Symantec Ghost 7.5 is compatible with the commandline switch you used and it can read NTFS. From this point I don't know what to advise you. If you want me to check your setup add username "eksine@hotmail.com" to MSN messenger or windows messenger and I'll try to help you troubleshoot. Or give me your instant messenger name and I'll find you
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.