HELP, resolution stuck at 640x480 and 4-bit color - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-29-2005, 01:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7
Unhappy HELP, resolution stuck at 640x480 and 4-bit color

I left my computer on all night and had it shut down at 7:00 this morning. So I woke up later and turned it on and now everything is stuck at 640x480 and at 4-bit color qulaity. If I change the settings back to normal it does nothing! I just checked for viruses and just updated windows and nothing worked. How do I fix this??

EDIT: Well I can increase the resolution to 800x600 but anything else just reverts back to 640x480 and the color qulaity won't change from 4-bit. This is really annoying my eyes
__________________

gamer_013 is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 01:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Reinstall the drivers for you gpu.
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 01:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

have you tried to uninstall your drivers and reinstall?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 02:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7
Default

ok, i rolled back the drivers and everything looks fine now. Do you think this will happen again if i update the drivers? What do you think went wrong?
gamer_013 is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 03:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

make a restore point, update your drivers and see.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 03:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Try to update your drivers again I doubt they would release fualty drivers.
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.