Help with reformatting hard disk - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-17-2004, 05:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 399
Default Help with reformatting hard disk

I was trying to reformat my hard disk but the following message comes up:
Windows cannot format this drive. quit and disk utilities or other programs that are using this drive, and make sure that no window is displaying the contents of the drive.

Anyone know how to get my hard disk formatted?


PC Specs:

Corsair TX550M ENTHUSIAST 550W
Intel B85, S 1150, DDR3, SATA III, PCIe 3.0 (x16), MATX MoBo
Intel Core i7 4790K, S1150, Haswell, 4 Core 4.4GHz Turbo
16GB (4x4GB) Corsair Vengeance Blue DDR3 PC3-12800 (1600)
960G SanDisk UltraII SSD + 2TB SEAGATE Hard Drive
Windows 10

Spud5437 is offline  
Old 06-17-2004, 05:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 346
Send a message via Yahoo to rakesh_1024

Try doing it in safe mode.


P4 1.6GHZ Willamette core 400MHZ FSB 256KB L2 cache
Intel 845WN Mobo
256mb SD-RAM
Nvidia Riva Tnt2 M64 G-card
40GB Seagate 5400rpm HDD
300Watt PSU
Intex Cabinet
15 LG Studioworks563N
Creative Inspire2400 2.1 speakers
52x Samsung CD Burner
rakesh_1024 is offline  
Old 06-17-2004, 06:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 130

Try using one of the hard drive diagnostics tools from the manufacturer these are for Western Digital and Maxtor but
most of the drive makers have one for download.
[Either the DLG Diagnostics or the Win Diagnostic]

Powermax for Maxtor

Good Luck
Worked4me is offline  
Old 06-18-2004, 06:42 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 57

Use a windows 98 boot disk and Fdisk it from there
AMD 2500+, 512mb Mem, 160GB (2xSATA 80GB in RAID0 array), K7N2G-ILSR (using on-board graphics and sound (for the moment ;-) ))

How many windows \"errors\" can there be??!!!
CacheUK is offline  
Old 06-18-2004, 09:11 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722

Just simply make sure no files are being used from the hard drive you are wanting to format. This includes turning off "System Restore" on the hard drive in question.
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
Kangaroo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:42 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.