Help Pls! Major Problems W/ Computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-04-2004, 01:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 25
Unhappy Help Pls! Major Problems W/ Computer

hey guys, so lately my computer has gone pretty crazy. I go to Start/Run/type in msconfig and then it loads but then nothing happens. Then i try that a few more times and something pops up (for like a second!) and then it disappears! The same thing happens when i press Ctrl+Alt+Del to try and open windows task manager. Sometimes it'll pop up for a second and then it disappears. The computer also frequently freezes and I have to keep restarting. Any suggestions?

Oh yea, if its relevant, a lot of problems like these started happening after i downloaded a driver update from windows update. I think it was an update for Rage 128 GL.
here are other problems w/ my comp:

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=20696

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=20936

Any suggestions will help!
__________________

n00b is offline  
Old 07-04-2004, 01:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Roll back your driver, and then do a system restore to a date before you downloaded the new driver.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 07-04-2004, 01:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 25
Default

Thanks beedubay
but how do you roll back your driver? and i didn't have a restore point before. If my comp does have its problems fixed, i surely will make a restore point!
any more suggestions?
n00b is offline  
Old 07-04-2004, 01:49 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Right click My Computer, click the Hardware tab, click Device Manager.

This will open the Device Manager window. Click the plus before the option "Display Adapters." Here you will find your Rage 128 driver. Double click it. Click the driver tab, and then click "Roll Back Driver." Let me know if you have any problems.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 07-04-2004, 01:59 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 25
Default

When i right click My Comptuer i dont see a hardware tab.

i see Open, Explore, Search.., Manage, TuneUp Utilities, and
Map Network Drive..., Disconect Network Drive..., and
Create Shortcut, Delete, Rename, and
Properties

thanks in advance for your suggestions and help
n00b is offline  
Old 07-04-2004, 02:01 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Oh, I'm sorry. I forgot to tell you to click Properties. I sometimes just assume people know as much as I do about computers..lol
beedubaya is offline  
Old 07-04-2004, 02:08 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 25
Default

Well, i went to Hardware and clicked on Device Manager and guess what happened: I press on it and nothing happens... just like when i type in msconfig in the run box and when i press ctrl+alt+del. After pressing device manager a few times, some box will pop up ( i think that box is the device manager thingy) but it only lasts for a second and then disappears.
what shall i do now? any sugestions will help. thank you!
n00b is offline  
Old 07-04-2004, 02:20 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Restart the computer, press F8 right before the black Windows XP screen with the blue scrolling bar appears. Chose the "Last Known Good Configuration" option. If this doesn't work, get back to me.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 07-04-2004, 02:27 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 617
Default

oops sorry posted in wrong thread
__________________
AdAware | Spybot S&D 1.4 | spyware guard & spyware blaster |

How did I get infected in the first place By Tony Klein

If you use IE I suggest using thes two programs IE Hosts & IE-SPYAD


Lobos is offline  
Old 07-04-2004, 02:45 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 25
Default

*sigh* all the problems still exist...
any other suggestions? thanks!
__________________

n00b is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.