Help Please? "Random" Shutdowns!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-08-2005, 10:08 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
Default Help Please? "Random" Shutdowns!!!

Hi, I run Windows XP SP2 Home Edition, P4 3.0GHz, 512MB RAM.

I usually keep my computer on 24 hours a day constantly but one morning I woke up and found it switched off. Since then whenever I try turning it on it tends to shutdown automatically around the screen where you see Windows XP and the blue/green loading bar.

I have done a RAM stability test, a graphics card stability test, Scan Disk on both my Harddrives, used registry mechanic to help with my registry, performed scans with Avast and AVG, cleaned the inside of the computer for dust, checked if the the cooling fans still function and used my XP CD to repair windows.

I am completely out of ideas at the moment, the computer works perfectly on any type of safemode (am on Safemode with network atm) and whenever I work for a period of time on Safemode and then retsart it into normal mode the computer manages to funtion normally for about 30minutes before shutting down again (when this happens the logs usually shows DCOM Error 10005, but most of the shutdowns occur before windows really has a chance to start).

I would really prefer to fix this problem without having to format my harddrives, hope somebody can help me >.<!!!

Thanks everyone in advance!!!!!!!!!

//Ibanez
__________________

Ibanez is offline  
Old 12-08-2005, 11:29 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Okay from what i read on this it is an IIS error. There are some registry keys that are giving you problems. If you have a system restore point i would use that. If not then try to see if you can go to windows update from safe mode and make sure your system is fully up to date. After that try looking here and see if some of this info helps out:http://forum.adiscon.com/topic,435.html

This one might also help too:
http://www.alegsa.com.ar/N/i60/Dcom%...id%2010005.php
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-08-2005, 12:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 293
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Makaveli213
Okay from what i read on this it is an IIS error. There are some registry keys that are giving you problems. If you have a system restore point i would use that. If not then try to see if you can go to windows update from safe mode and make sure your system is fully up to date. After that try looking here and see if some of this info helps out:http://forum.adiscon.com/topic,435.html

This one might also help too:
http://www.alegsa.com.ar/N/i60/Dcom%...id%2010005.php
Try this first...if it doesn't work

Let me know how much data/memory is in your hard drive that YOU NEED.
Do you have a spare hard drive that can cover those data?

If you can, take out the hard drive from the computer,
format the spare one
hook the main hard drive as a slave
drag the info to the spare one (which should have your OS)
after that, format the main hard drive

if you don't have a spare hard drive and the above doesn't work
reformatting is suggested.
or just buy a hard drive and do the above.
__________________
professor at your service
XFlamez is offline  
Old 12-08-2005, 12:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Soundmaster2.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 190
Default

I hate when random power surges/ power outages f*** up your computer. I had this happen to me and I just ended up using linux live to move all of my important stuff to another hdd and formating the old one and reinstalling windows.
Soundmaster2.0 is offline  
Old 12-08-2005, 07:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
Default

I'm not very good with the registry so I have no clue as to how I can fix my dcom errors and I can't use windows update on safe mode. Although I have automatic update on usually so I think I have most of the recent updates.

I guess there is no option for me except to format? I have 2 separate hard drives: C: I use for programs and Windows and D: for my games and other files. The drives are 150GB each, I have only about 24GBs left on D: and about 86GBs on C:. Should I install XP on D:, format C: then move everything to C: and format D:?

I always assumed the problem was with applications/services as everything works perfectly on safemode but I guess it's very difficult to identify the problem and it would be fixed either way with a format?

Thanks everyone for your suggestions/comments/help so far^^

//Ibanez
Ibanez is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.