help please!!! - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-26-2004, 09:37 PM   #21 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

vance43211 he's not using the compaq board he's using his new ABIT so the recovery cd's won't work for him,atleast that's what i understand.
__________________

Shumway is offline  
Old 10-26-2004, 09:42 PM   #22 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

Well, the recovery partition probably cotains not only the o/s but the drivers and apps that came with the system. You can always back those up and then just wipe everything clean. As far as hard disk drivers, you're probably talking about MBD chipset drivers (IDE interface and what-not), however if you have a OLD hard drive, and I mean real old, they used to contain HDD info on special partitions on the HDD itself (modern HDD keep them in its own internal chipset). You can't really delete those, though, with fdisk because it wont be listed, or if it is would be listed as unknown and would not remove it. The only way to remove this partition is by writing zeros, but I wouldn't recommend that if you have a old drive unless you know the info to enter into the bios (tracks, clusters, etc).
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 10-27-2004, 04:24 PM   #23 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 172
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Shumway
vance43211 he's not using the compaq board he's using his new ABIT so the recovery cd's won't work for him,atleast that's what i understand.

yes shumway, your right!!!
__________________
im too good for a sig :p heres my specs
system specs: 2.0 ghz amd athlon xp 2400+
ABIT NF7-SV2(yeah!!)
radeon 9200 SE vid card :(
60 gig hardrive
32*Cd-rw and 16*DVD drive
17\" CRT monitor
mushkin 512 mb pc 3200
darkwingduck is offline  
Old 10-27-2004, 04:29 PM   #24 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 172
Default

so so do i wipe my hard drive clean or leave the fat32 partition the way it is??? i dont know that much into hard drives and all that stuff.
__________________
im too good for a sig :p heres my specs
system specs: 2.0 ghz amd athlon xp 2400+
ABIT NF7-SV2(yeah!!)
radeon 9200 SE vid card :(
60 gig hardrive
32*Cd-rw and 16*DVD drive
17\" CRT monitor
mushkin 512 mb pc 3200
darkwingduck is offline  
Old 10-27-2004, 05:46 PM   #25 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 422
Default

yes wipe both partition clean and make them one
vance43211 is offline  
Old 10-27-2004, 09:58 PM   #26 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 172
Default

are u sure, also when i reinstall windows would i still be able to make recovery cd's
__________________
im too good for a sig :p heres my specs
system specs: 2.0 ghz amd athlon xp 2400+
ABIT NF7-SV2(yeah!!)
radeon 9200 SE vid card :(
60 gig hardrive
32*Cd-rw and 16*DVD drive
17\" CRT monitor
mushkin 512 mb pc 3200
darkwingduck is offline  
Old 10-27-2004, 10:29 PM   #27 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 422
Default

no, that recovery cd was for your old motherboard and apps

you would have a serious conflicts if you try it to your new mobo

so just delete it and start over and get new software
vance43211 is offline  
Old 10-28-2004, 03:39 PM   #28 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 172
Default

what new software???? and i meant would my new operating system have a application to make recovery cd's??
__________________
im too good for a sig :p heres my specs
system specs: 2.0 ghz amd athlon xp 2400+
ABIT NF7-SV2(yeah!!)
radeon 9200 SE vid card :(
60 gig hardrive
32*Cd-rw and 16*DVD drive
17\" CRT monitor
mushkin 512 mb pc 3200
darkwingduck is offline  
Old 10-28-2004, 06:01 PM   #29 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 172
Default

uhh hello??
__________________
im too good for a sig :p heres my specs
system specs: 2.0 ghz amd athlon xp 2400+
ABIT NF7-SV2(yeah!!)
radeon 9200 SE vid card :(
60 gig hardrive
32*Cd-rw and 16*DVD drive
17\" CRT monitor
mushkin 512 mb pc 3200
darkwingduck is offline  
Old 10-28-2004, 06:07 PM   #30 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

This might help you out http://www.tweakxp.com/tweak849.aspx it's supposed to a backup thing for xp

*EDIT*
Go here microsoft shows how to back up all your stuff. http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/u..._03july14.mspx
__________________

Shumway is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.