help please!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-23-2004, 06:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 172
Default help please!!!

hey wassup. im getting ready to reinstall windows xp home, but i was wondering about my partitaioned D:fat32 disk. my old system was from compaq and itcame with compaq system recovery and stuff, alll of that is installed in that partition. would it be wisse to delete that or just leave it???
__________________

__________________
im too good for a sig :p heres my specs
system specs: 2.0 ghz amd athlon xp 2400+
ABIT NF7-SV2(yeah!!)
radeon 9200 SE vid card :(
60 gig hardrive
32*Cd-rw and 16*DVD drive
17\" CRT monitor
mushkin 512 mb pc 3200
darkwingduck is offline  
Old 10-23-2004, 06:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

depends...do u want to use it?
I think u can delete it because u have an XP disc. I am not sure though, dunno exactly how the restore partition works
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-23-2004, 07:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 172
Default

hmmmm if i left it would ther e be compatiabiliy issues??
__________________
im too good for a sig :p heres my specs
system specs: 2.0 ghz amd athlon xp 2400+
ABIT NF7-SV2(yeah!!)
radeon 9200 SE vid card :(
60 gig hardrive
32*Cd-rw and 16*DVD drive
17\" CRT monitor
mushkin 512 mb pc 3200
darkwingduck is offline  
Old 10-23-2004, 07:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

not sure...I don't think it will..its only a partition with some data
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-23-2004, 07:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 172
Default

hmmmm...im unsure also, i i wss to use it what would happen to my mobo, the old mobo was also from compaq but i decided to go with the new one i have. hmm, well if i was to delete it and use one single partition, would i still have a d drive or just a C drive where my complete data would be??
__________________
im too good for a sig :p heres my specs
system specs: 2.0 ghz amd athlon xp 2400+
ABIT NF7-SV2(yeah!!)
radeon 9200 SE vid card :(
60 gig hardrive
32*Cd-rw and 16*DVD drive
17\" CRT monitor
mushkin 512 mb pc 3200
darkwingduck is offline  
Old 10-23-2004, 07:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

just a C drive and some unallocated space. The unallocated space will be as large as the partition u deleted. U have to format it to make/keep it accesible for windows
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-23-2004, 07:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 172
Default

u mean delete both drives and make the C drive my NTFS where my OS will go???
__________________
im too good for a sig :p heres my specs
system specs: 2.0 ghz amd athlon xp 2400+
ABIT NF7-SV2(yeah!!)
radeon 9200 SE vid card :(
60 gig hardrive
32*Cd-rw and 16*DVD drive
17\" CRT monitor
mushkin 512 mb pc 3200
darkwingduck is offline  
Old 10-23-2004, 08:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

depends.

u have 2 partitions ritenow
1 NTFS and one FAT32 one one harddisk rite?

If u want one partition:
-delete both partitions and create a new partition during XP installation

or

-format the FAT32 partitition as NTFS and merge it with the C: NTFS partition

If u want 2 seperate partitions:
-format the FAT32 partition

You will loose all files on the partition when formatting.

You need third party software like Partition Magic to merge 2 partitions.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-23-2004, 08:14 PM   #9 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Of course u can also delete the files on the restore partition without formatting.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-23-2004, 08:44 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 172
Default

how do i reformat the D: fat 32 partition??? and yes im using one hard disk
__________________

__________________
im too good for a sig :p heres my specs
system specs: 2.0 ghz amd athlon xp 2400+
ABIT NF7-SV2(yeah!!)
radeon 9200 SE vid card :(
60 gig hardrive
32*Cd-rw and 16*DVD drive
17\" CRT monitor
mushkin 512 mb pc 3200
darkwingduck is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.