help with new laptop - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-29-2005, 10:33 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
Default help with new laptop

hi guys my first post. i have 2 comoputers a 2 yr old apple imac with 1 ghz 256 ram and a 1 week old dell laptop with 1.4 ghz and also 256 ram. i did a couple tests and here is my question. on startup when i first push the power button , to get to my homepage of yahoo it takes the new dell aprox 2 min 30 sec. the older mac takes about 1 min and 10 sec. to shut down with no programs running it takes the dell 35 sec and the apple 10 sec. is this the way it should be i thought the new laptop would be faster not 2-3 times as slow. i also noticed in the last 2 yrs whenever i use internet explorer on the apple instead of safari or netscape it seems to shut down unexpectadely. i am not here to bash ie i am just asking if this is normal or if i can speed it up. thanks in advance for your replies
__________________

jjomaski is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 01:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

how manyicons do you see running on the dell next to the time? give me a total and then go to start, run, type msconfig, go to startup and tell me if all those are check marked.
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 09:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
Default

thank you i saw what was starting up and i eliminated most of the unwanted programs . it is now fine thanks again
jjomaski is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 09:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

figured that

also, here is a program to delete those entries so its cleaned up

http://www.get-in-control.com/msconfig-cleanup/

its free

use msconfig first to uncheck everything

then use this tool to delete the entry
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.