help my computer not working properly - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-06-2006, 01:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 24
Default help my computer not working properly

well i bought this new proccessor (intel) and put it into my comp replacing the proccessor and the computer would not start up with the new proccesor later finding out that it was fried, so obviously i put back in the proccessor that originally belonged to the computer and when i booted it up the screen was not showing up just blank. I could not figure out why it was doing this because the computer was working just fine before i put in the fried proccessor, and when i boot up the computer i here the hardrive start up as well as the fans and cd-roms. if anyone can help me it would be really appreciated.
__________________

aznskater51 is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 01:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

The processor could have damged the motherboard.

Unattach everything but CPU, RAM and Video card, Clear CMOS, then try booting. If you still get no response, then take out RAM, you should get Beeps next time you boot indicating no RAM. IF there are no beeps then your motherboard is probably toast and your SHould RMA/Replace it.

What was the previous processor?
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 02:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 24
Default

i tried that and yes i do get beeps alerting no ram being deteced and the previous proccessor was a celeron D 2.9
aznskater51 is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 04:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Ok, try only 1 Stick of Memory at a time. Then reboot.

However, I fear it will result the same with both sticks.

Be prepared to RMA this motherboard if our attempts fail.
Ste is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 07:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default Re: help my computer not working properly

Quote:
Originally posted by aznskater51
well i bought this new proccessor (intel) and put it into my comp replacing the proccessor and the computer would not start up with the new proccesor later finding out that it was fried, so obviously i put back in the proccessor that originally belonged to the computer and when i booted it up the screen was not showing up just blank. I could not figure out why it was doing this because the computer was working just fine before i put in the fried proccessor, and when i boot up the computer i here the hardrive start up as well as the fans and cd-roms. if anyone can help me it would be really appreciated.
do you have the cpy seated properly? I've seen people put in the cpu, pull down the lever that closes the pins securely, and then put the fan on and then when they took the fan off, the cpu was attached to the fan without lifting the lever up....
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.