help me stop my brother - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-15-2006, 10:56 AM   #11 (permalink)
jbc
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 225
Default

I believe that some anti-spyware can be run by remote. I believe that Ad Ware SE might be able to do this. You also probably need an active Anti-Adware scanner that will block his download of spyware. Also look into the firewall you can most likely stop the spyware at the firewall.
__________________

jbc is offline  
Old 06-15-2006, 12:31 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

are you sure his account is a user and not a power user? There is a huge difference in access rights, so you might want to check. Even if you don't have the Policies that Pro does, you can still apply registy based policies, poledit.exe from NT4 days, that will work. Also, doing things like disabling Registry access will help. You just need to leave a back door for your self. ie, only apply the setting to the accounts you want to do it to. meaning you need to load their registry profile and change it there. Also, by removing things like cscript.exe and wscript.exe from the system, you will be a little safer.

Good luck.
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Old 06-15-2006, 08:17 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 30
Send a message via AIM to Lee05162004 Send a message via Yahoo to Lee05162004
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Warez Monster
All I gotta say is gpedit.msc
I don't think that works in XP Home but you can try this. Go to Start>Run and type "control userpasswords2" and see if that works. It should give you options to edit users on your computer.
Lee05162004 is offline  
Old 06-16-2006, 10:28 AM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
snypercore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 738
Default

that douges security thign is kinda wot im looking for i just dont knwo hwo to set my brothers accoutn with them settings and not anyone elses
__________________
snypercore is offline  
Old 06-16-2006, 10:55 AM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
snypercore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 738
Default

UPDATE^

i had to get a licsnesed copy of the dougs thign and its works fine thanks for the help exactly what i needed
__________________

__________________
snypercore is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.