help me stop my brother

Status
Not open for further replies.

snypercore

Daemon Poster
ok heres the deal....
my house has 2 pc's....mine which only i use :

windows xp pro SP1.....just the plain old school xp pro
and the "family pc" which is running...windows xp home with all the updates and SP2...
these pc's are on a wireless LAN and i use the fasmily pc as a server for some of my files as it has a big HDD. my little brother goes on the pc upstairs under his own user area..there is one fro weach family member he is not administrator and yet he still manages to screw the pc at least twice a week with some problem..i was just wondering in my school when i login as a student i can only see wot the admins want me to se under the start menu so the basic MS office etc.. and i cant run any exe's and its pretty hard to do anythign uneducational..is there a way i can incorprate this on the family pc but only for his user i think its to do with editing to registry btu maybe someone advanced enough or who works in IT administration *cough* warez monster*cough* :D i have no trouble following instructions and editing registry keys thats if this is hwo i can do it any help is much appriciated

Its easy enough for pro you can just set policies for that user, i'm not sure how you would go about it in home though, or if policies exist.
If it does come down to registy editing you might want to use an app like x-setup rather than hunt for the keys manually.

X Setup

This might be useful

Agree with Mr Cofee. Look at the account policies for your brother's account. Look at what he is doing to mess with things and restrict his useage accordingly. Sounds like you need to make this a four step process:

1) Analysis - look at what your brother is doing that is causing problems and come up with restrictions to prevent him from causing troubble;