HELP ME PLZ!!winxp reboot at load scrn after repair - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-29-2006, 03:04 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 61
Default HELP ME PLZ!!winxp reboot at load scrn after repair

im working on someones computer and it had several minor problems on it so i repaired it using my cd. after the repair was done it went to xp loading and restarted itself. over and over again. This is a very important persons computer with very valuable info on it and they said absolutely no reformat. plz help

I have done tried safe mode it says cant continue with windows installation in safemode. and restarts. PLZ HELP
__________________

__________________
Dell Dimension 3000, Win 2000 pro, BEFW11S4 Linksys router.
jamie7823 is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 03:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 48
Default

If this puter had 2k on it, why did you use XP disc?
__________________

figero is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 03:19 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 61
Default

I NEVER SAID IT WAS WIN 2K
__________________
Dell Dimension 3000, Win 2000 pro, BEFW11S4 Linksys router.
jamie7823 is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 02:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 61
Default please help me

If anyone knows a fix for this plz help me i have to have this computer returned tomorrow morning to the owner and its 100 times worse now than when i first got it. It is a business computer with quickbooks and everything on it. If you have any ideas whatso ever plz help me!!!

THANK YOU
__________________
Dell Dimension 3000, Win 2000 pro, BEFW11S4 Linksys router.
jamie7823 is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 02:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

do you just want to boot to the OS and save her items and then reformat?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 02:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 61
Default

she told me she could have reformatted it herself. She wanted it fixed like it was....
__________________
Dell Dimension 3000, Win 2000 pro, BEFW11S4 Linksys router.
jamie7823 is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 02:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 61
Default

the computer im working on doesnt have a floppy drive...
and im almost positive i made a reg backup....
if so...
i can make a dos cdrom
locate the reg bckup
rename the windows folder windows.bk
and reinstall windows to a new windows folder.
get it up and going and run the reg backup?

what you think?
__________________
Dell Dimension 3000, Win 2000 pro, BEFW11S4 Linksys router.
jamie7823 is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 03:13 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 48
Default

Yelling at me won't help at all. One last try - I cannot imagine that you haven't tried System Restore.
figero is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 06:23 AM   #9 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

@figero- if he cant get into Windows a system restore wouldnt help.

@jamie7823-It sounds as if the fix didnt work. The only thing i can suggest is to try and repair the XP install. Again. Since it only replaces the XP files it shouldnt hurt it to try again. Since it only reboots that just tells me that the original repair didnt fully finish or didnt take correctly.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 07:54 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jamie7823
she told me she could have reformatted it herself. She wanted it fixed like it was....
sometimes things just cant be fixed like like they were. If you download knoppix, save all of her files that she needs, just wipe it out and start fresh. She will like it much better
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.