Help me plz ;O - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-22-2006, 10:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Kap
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5
Default Help me plz ;O

There i was, playing WoW, when out of nowhere my game freezes and automaticly restarts itself. When it restarts, it says System boot error, Please insert system disc and press enter. What do i do?!?

I dont know what a system boot disc is.
Does anyone know where i could find or buy one?

Thanks.
__________________

Kap is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 10:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;228985
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 10:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Kap
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks for the reply, but i can't even get out of dos. Im simply stuck in dos mode after i start my computer, with a message saying "System boot error, Please insert system disc and press enter."

PS. Im on a different computer at the moment.
Kap is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 10:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

what os?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 10:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Kap
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Windows XP.
Kap is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 10:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

XP Repair install

Boot the computer using the XP CD. You may need to change the boot order in the system BIOS so the CD boots before the hard drive. Check your system documentation for steps to access the BIOS and change the boot order.
When you see the "Welcome To Setup" screen, you will see the options below
This portion of the Setup program prepares Microsoft
Windows XP to run on your computer:

To setup Windows XP now, press ENTER.

To repair a Windows XP installation using Recovery Console, press R.

To quit Setup without installing Windows XP, press F3.

Press Enter to start the Windows Setup. do not choose "To repair a Windows XP installation using the Recovery Console, press R", (you Do Not want to load Recovery Console). I repeat, do not choose "To repair a Windows XP installation using the Recovery Console, press R".
Accept the License Agreement and Windows will search for existing Windows installations.
Select the XP installation you want to repair from the list and press R to start the repair. If Repair is not one of the options, read this Warning#2!
Setup will copy the necessary files to the hard drive and reboot. Do not press any key to boot from CD when the message appears. Setup will continue as if it were doing a clean install, but your applications and settings will remain intact.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 11:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
Kap
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5
Default

My computer came with windows installed and I didn't get a Windows cd. Is there any other way to do this? Can I use another version of windows?
Kap is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 11:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

nope..only xp
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 11:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
Kap
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Ah, thanks for your help.
Kap is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 11:20 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

you need to get a copy of xp from somewhere
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.