help me out!!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-20-2005, 04:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 408
Default help me out!!!!

i'm fixin a friends laptop, a compaq with microsoft home edition

when i go to turn it on, it takes a few minutes and then says


Windows could not start because the following file i smissing or corrupt: \WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\CONFIG\SYSTEM

You can attempt to repair this file by starting windows setup using the original setup CD-Rom
slelect "r" at the first screen to start repair



problem is.. my friend doesnt have the cd's... is there anything i can do?

also i downloaded a windows xp .iso file to make a bootable cd, but when i start it up with the cd in.. it takes me to an ms-dos command screen, any ideas on how to get it to windows desktop? Thank you in advance for any help.
__________________

__________________
antec nine hundred
abit IP35 pro
Q6600 @ 3.3ghz
Evga 8800GTX
4GB Corsair XMS 800
150gb WD 10k
300gb seagate 7.2k
22" Samsung 5ms lcd
21" Sceptre lcd
cloud is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 04:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

http://www.microsoft.com/resources/d...b_tol_snry.asp

Read this link. There is a ton of info there. look around and see what you can find. I'm looking for the exact article...

edit:

look here too...
http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;307545
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 09:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 408
Default

that stuff says i need the cds... which i dont have.... oy
__________________
antec nine hundred
abit IP35 pro
Q6600 @ 3.3ghz
Evga 8800GTX
4GB Corsair XMS 800
150gb WD 10k
300gb seagate 7.2k
22" Samsung 5ms lcd
21" Sceptre lcd
cloud is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 09:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
PC Cutie ^_^
 
Seria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 553
Default

you dont have the OS CD?
__________________
Seria is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 09:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Go to a working computer and make an iso that works, test it on the working computer, make sure the iso is bootable by booting off it then try to install it or repair ir
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.