Help me eliminate some confusion between MS Office and Openoffice compatibility... - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-19-2005, 02:01 PM   #21 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Tyler1989
MS Office = god
Open/Star Office = 10 times more resource hog/bad
I noticed no difference...

Plus, unless you'd like to find me a key that works (tried dozens) I'm going to have to stick to the freebie version. <3
__________________

Jayce is offline  
Old 11-19-2005, 02:29 PM   #22 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Well I suggest you look at the recent benchmarks for Office ver2 and stay legal.
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 11-19-2005, 02:30 PM   #23 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Tyler1989
Well I suggest you look at the recent benchmarks for Office ver2 and stay legal.
Hell, I have a valid copy of MS Office 2K3. But for some reason, that key doesn't work.

I have no idea why it doesn't work....

And Rock XP doesn't even realize that Office 2K3 is installed on the Dell. I don't care what anybody says, it does not recognize it.... I don't know why.....
Jayce is offline  
Old 11-19-2005, 06:31 PM   #24 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Jayce
What's no ASPI adapter available mean?
here unzip this and follow the instructions. click on the free version to download the file

http://rapidshare.de/files/7876071/N...or_XP.zip.html
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 11-19-2005, 06:33 PM   #25 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Jayce
Hell, I have a valid copy of MS Office 2K3. But for some reason, that key doesn't work.

I have no idea why it doesn't work....

And Rock XP doesn't even realize that Office 2K3 is installed on the Dell. I don't care what anybody says, it does not recognize it.... I don't know why.....
you might have microsoft works on the dell.
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 11-19-2005, 11:40 PM   #26 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

here is another option

http://www.software602.com/products/pcs/


602PC SUITE uses the same document formats (.DOC & .XLS) as Microsoft® Office and has the same look and feel. Maintain compatibility and save a fortune, 602PC SUITE is available at a cost of up to 90% lower than Microsoft® Office 2003*!

Export to Adobe Acrobat® PDF (Portable Document Format) directly from any 602PC SUITE application. Convert documents, spreadsheets and digital photos to this widely accepted format for quick and easy online distribution.

This integrated solution for creating, editing and viewing documents & spreadsheets is compatible with Microsoft® Word (9x/2000/XP/2003) and Microsoft® Excel. You will be surprised that many features work in EXACTLY the same way as Microsoft® Office.

602PC SUITE provides a complete solution for any digital photo enthusiast. Easily edit, restore, enhance, print, present and share your photos. Organize your photos into virtual albums and simply publish these albums to the web, a photo CD or e-mail.

Create documents and publish them online in the same way you save them on your hard drive. 602PC SUITE along with eDock Server will provide easy document sharing and access from anywhere using a standard web browser.

Affordable multi-user licensing starts at only three (3) users. Each multi-user license purchased for an organization allows installation on an employee's home computer! A simple, one-time software registration is required for the entire organization.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-19-2005, 11:41 PM   #27 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

post a screen shot of word if you have office 2003 and not works....
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-20-2005, 04:05 AM   #28 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Warez Monster
post a screen shot of word if you have office 2003 and not works....
It's 4 am and I'll get a screenshot later.

In program menu, it says Microsoft Office. When I hover the mouse, to the right the programs appear. Every single one says 2003 behind it, such as Word 2003, Excel 2003, etc.

The other thing is, when I go into add/remove programs, it's listed as Microsoft Office Professional 2003..... Does the Professional mean a difference? It shows in add/remove programs, but not in the actual program menu.
__________________

Jayce is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.