Help, locked out of system - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-09-2006, 06:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3
Default Help, locked out of system

I have connected a crt monitor borrowed from a friend to my pc ( my other monitor is faulty )
I cannot log in to the system, it boots up and when it gets to the log in screen it freezes and I can't do anything except an improper shutdown.
Also it takes about 5 minutes at times to load up windows ( I run XP Media Center Editon)
My faulty monitor doesn't like standby mode, it won't come back on when it goes into standby and if it does half the screen is dim , any reason why this happens ?
Advice needed please
Thanks in advance
Peecee
__________________

peecee is offline  
Old 06-09-2006, 06:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

have you tried safemode? If not, then try loading into that...

Start the computer, as soon as the Post is done, start pressing "f8" several time a second. This should get you to the start menu, where you select safemode. See if you can get in from there.
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Old 06-09-2006, 06:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Hi Inaris
I tried your instuctions and it didn't work, my pc is password protected and when it gets to the screen where i have to pess ctrl, alt and delete before the enter password screen it freezes.
Help please
peecee is offline  
Old 06-09-2006, 06:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

can you see the menu for starting in safemode?

can you get into safemode?

what didn't work?
Inaris is offline  
Old 06-09-2006, 07:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Hi again
I'm not sure what I'm doing, but when do I press F8, please could you take me through this process step by step
I thought I was following your instuctions earlier but i got it wrong.
I'm afraid I've never dealt with any pc problems before but am keen to learn.
Thanks in advance
peecee is offline  
Old 06-09-2006, 07:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=61575
Osiris is offline  
Old 06-10-2006, 02:54 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 274
Default

Warez monster... you post way to much man, lol.. do something else
__________________

__________________
Money Pit
i5 4590 - 3.3GHz
R9 280 OC
8GB G.Skill 1600
dave39 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.