Help! Installing Windows on a PC with no CD Drive! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-20-2006, 02:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 25
Default Help! Installing Windows on a PC with no CD Drive!

Ok, it's an old compaq ipaq, so it doesn't even have the IDE connection to add a CD drive to it (or i already would have), but i need to get an OS installed on it, and i'm not sure how to do it, since i don't have a CD drive that will work for it.

Is there another way of doing it?
__________________

xMemphisx is offline  
Old 08-20-2006, 02:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

you can do it over a network but that is very hard. does it have a usb port? try running out and buying a cheap usb cd drive.
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-20-2006, 11:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 25
Default

I bought a USB cd-drive it's an iomega, and i've put in the install disc and tried plugging the USB into all the different ports and then booting through the USB, but it never does anything, it goes straight to the harddrive then says "Non-System Disc Error - Press Ctrl + Alt + Del to restart"
xMemphisx is offline  
Old 08-20-2006, 11:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

You might need to see if the hard drive is set to Master. Crack open the case and check the hard drive itself.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 08-20-2006, 11:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 25
Default

yep, it's set to master.

i also tried putting it into a different computer and formatting then installing the OS, and it worked just fine, but when i moved it back it didn't work at all. I know that it shouldn't anyway, but i thought i'd try it.

can anyone explain or link me as to how to do this via internet/lan ?
xMemphisx is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 01:06 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

An alternative is to use a Linux Live CD.

It's a fully-usuable OS that runs off the CD-ROM, and you can change settings and install apps like Windows XP.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 01:30 AM   #7 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by xMemphisx
yep, it's set to master.

i also tried putting it into a different computer and formatting then installing the OS, and it worked just fine, but when i moved it back it didn't work at all. I know that it shouldn't anyway, but i thought i'd try it.

can anyone explain or link me as to how to do this via internet/lan ?

if you go this route, install window me then upgrade to xp.

put it in another computer, make 2 partition with your xp cd, format the 2nd as fat32 (it will format the first drive first, you can pick ntfs for that one) and install me on that 2nd one. as soon as it get done formatting and say checking drive, immediately eject the xp disc. it will say something like it can't continue. hit f3 to restart. install me

put it back. me will load if you put the hdd on a 1000 different computers. now after a few reboots and it load the new drivers. copy the content of your xp cd onto the 2nd me partition, through either the usb cd or network

run setup from there. pick new install. enter serial then pick next. clcik advance option check the copy the install file and the I want to pick the partitions options.

during reboot pick the 1st partition to install xp

delete the me partition when you are done. you can change to my document folder.

I done this on a ipaq before as well as a few other computers
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 03:06 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

try adjusting the boot order in the bios to boot to the cd drive first instead of the hard drive.
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 03:23 AM   #9 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jcortes
try adjusting the boot order in the bios to boot to the cd drive first instead of the hard drive.
it won't work on that computer with a usb cd drive. it will work on newer computers. that computer is old
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 07:12 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 325
Default

just plug the drive into another computer and install on that and then move the drive backover
(will that work?)
__________________

__________________
Athlon 64 3200+
GigaByte GA K8N-SLI
1GB Corsair Select Value
GigaByte 7300GS
80GB maxtor Hard Disk
Samsung Writemaster DVD-RWDL 16x
Thermaltake mambo case w/ 430 PSU
Windows XP Pro
17\" Proview LCD
mophead740 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.