Help installing 2nd hdd and OS

Status
Not open for further replies.

TKF

In Runtime
Help needed doing this if it is possible
I am dual booting on a 80gb ide drive (XP & Windows 7) I'm wanting to add a clean 120gb ide drive and clone? or reinstall? windows 7 to it,
Remove windows 7 partition with out messing up my XP guessing I will have to repair mbr somehow ? after removing windows 7.
Never tried dual booted on 2 separate drives before not sure how to go about it or best way to connect them? set Bios? and how do I pick which HDD on start up to boot ?.

Been searching the forum for hrs I'm :confused:

Thanks for any help, suggestions, and tips I'm still Learning :laughing:

OK, you currently have your 80 gig split in to 2 partitions, XP as first boot and win 7 as the second..? and you want to add a second drive to move your Win7 partition on to..?

Well, the second drive will work the same way as your two partitions in your boot menu do now.

The move should be no problem, but I don't know about the fix on the mbr.

You could copy your partition over to your drive, then unplug your new copy, boot into XP then wipe your partition with win7, but before you do this get the details on how to fix the mbr once you have made the move.

Thanks for the help
I'm thinking now to just reinstall 7 on the new drive and removing it from the XP drive

How should I connect the new drive? as slave to the 80gb?,or on the DVD side master? or slave?

And If I don't have 7 on it will it be recognized by the system if not, how would I get to it ?

Sorry for all the questions just not wanting mess up my XP.

Install the Drive. Leave the XP Drive attached and put the new drive as slave. Dont worry installing Windows 7 will not affect your XP install at all.

Then boot from the Windows 7 DVD and go thru the install. When given the drive selection screen just select the newly installed drive.