Help Install Windows XP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-11-2006, 03:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 66
Default Help Install Windows XP

hey i recently destroyed my master hdd and i just got a new 250gb one. i set the old slave hdd as single and installed the new one as SATA. Windows is actually installed on the old drive (I put it on the slave and not the master because it was a smaller drive). So when i put in the windows XP home upgrade disk it comes to that wonderful blue screen. I pressed enter to install XP and it tells me that it cant find a previous version of windows on my system. BUT when i use the disk to enter the recovery console it tells me that i do indeed have windows installed! So what the **** is giong on and please dont tell me that i have to buy the full version of XP!
thanks
__________________

adamL is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 03:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

set the slave as master
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 03:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 66
Default

i did
adamL is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 03:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 66
Default

actually wait i set it as single. not the Same????
adamL is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 03:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 66
Default

i changed it to master and now my bios doesn't detect it. anything else? please?
adamL is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 03:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 66
Default

would it work to take out the 250gb and then try and boot up the ide hdd. then later add the 250gb?
adamL is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 03:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 66
Default

i'm tempted to fdisk it and then be amazed as again nothing happens. it's wierd because the first time i booted the system with the new drive it said please insert boot media blah blah. and then after i put in the XP cd and IT said i didn't have windows installed then the comp wouldn't to that boot media screen. it was a black screen with a blinking white cursor. i had to make it boot from CD. but windows doesn't like me. or maybe the computer god hates me!
adamL is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 04:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 66
Default

wait a minute i haven't formatted the new drive. do i have to do that? is that part of my problem. i love hardware but dang i hate software issues.
adamL is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 04:05 PM   #9 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

set the jumpers until the bios recognize the drive (cs or master)
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 04:07 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 66
Default

well i set it as single which is without jumpers. the bios recognized it then. everything is just fine in the bios. perfect in fact.
__________________

adamL is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.