Help -> Install windows Me - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-14-2005, 02:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 61
Default Help -> Install windows Me

I need help to install Win Me - I have empty, formated HDD, previously Win XP was on it, so what I do is this:
> insert WinMe boot CD in DVDrom (D,
> it recognizes the disc,
> then it start scanning system registry
> and then it displays this mesage:

Cannot create a temporary directory.
If you have HPFS or NTFS installed on
your Hard drive, you will need to create
an MS-DOS boot partition to set up windows.
D:\winme>

This may be very simple if you know DOS commands, but
unfortunately I don't know them, so please can you
advice me what to do and write me commands to start
up installing windows Me.

I think it could have something to do with NTFS and FAT32.
__________________

__________________
I\'m not here because I know, I\'m here to learn!
afroman is offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 02:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

http://dban.sourceforge.net/

This worked for me....
Download Dariks boot and nuke. put it on either a floppy or CD.
Boot to it and you should be ok.
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 04:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

why would you DOWNGRADE to windows me?

get windows 2000, me just plain sucks!
talldude123 is offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 05:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

OMG!!!!!!!! You are installing the Bastard stepchild of 98SE!! ME is total crap. DO NOT, AND I REPEAT, DO NOT INSTALL ME ON ANY COMPUTER THAT YOU WANT TO ACTUALLY WORK CORRECTLY. My God man, XP is like heaven compared to that piece of s**t!!!!! Trust me, put XP back on before we have to send out the OS stupid police to slap you around!!
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 05:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 61
Default

Well I have 2 disks one with XP, and on the other I would like to install Me. I know it sucks - and DO NOT, AND I REPEAT, DO NOT send me OS stupid police to slap me around - cause XP rules!
__________________
I\'m not here because I know, I\'m here to learn!
afroman is offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 06:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Dual operating systems are possible....but why??????????????????????????????????? Use ME? Get to know Linux if you want a dual boot. Linux is free and good!!!
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 10:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 203
Default

It's not completely awful. I use it right now because I have too little time to install Linux and don't want to spend money to upgrade to 2000 or XP. Plus, it's handy for older DOS games.

Have you tried fdisk? At the C prompt, type fdisk. It should open a DOS program. There seems to be a very good guide here.

Good luck with whatever you want to use it for.
__________________
Computers:
(Main Desktop) Phenom 2 X4 965 BE + Scythe Mugen 2 Rev B Heatsink / 4gb DDR3-1600 RAM / nVidia 9800GT / Samsung F3 1tb HDD / Windows 7
(Laptop) Dell Vostro 1400 / Core 2 Duo T5670 1.8ghz / 2gb RAM / 8400M GS / 250gb HDD / Windows 7-Ubuntu Dual Boot
("Media Center" Desktop) Athlon X2 4000+ / 4gb RAM / nVidia 9400 / 250GB + 2TB HDD / Windows 7 Professional x64
trekkie00 is offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 11:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

You need a windows 98 boot disk. Boot off of it and when its at the A: type fidisk and delete all non dos partitions and create a new active partition. And in my opion a clean install of windows ME isnt that bad of an operating system.The worst part of it is finding drivers for it.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 12-15-2005, 12:40 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

linux is free?? where can you download it? from linux?
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.