Help. I'm trying to install xp through a network - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-18-2007, 11:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Help. I'm trying to install xp through a network

I'm following this guide

WINNER (Windows Is Not Necessary for Everyone's RIS)

I don't really understand this part.

WINNER (Windows Is Not Necessary for Everyone's RIS)

Quote:
I'm serving a DHCP server on my LAN, giving my clients IP addresses ranging from 10.1.2.200 to 10.1.2.202 (pool = 2).
I'm guessing that my range starts at 192.168.0.100 to 192.168.0.182 and my range is 182




is this correct?
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 06-18-2007, 12:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default Re: Help. I'm trying to install xp through a network

looks right.
__________________

Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 06-18-2007, 12:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Help. I'm trying to install xp through a network

thanks. will this work with gigabit network? do the workgroup name have to be workgroup? do the username have to have a password?

I'm a noob to all of this
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 06-19-2007, 12:21 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: /usr/root/mn/us
Posts: 1,118
Default Re: Help. I'm trying to install xp through a network

If I'm understanding your setup correctly you're installing both a DHCP server and a PXE server on that box.

You're partially correct on your setup if this is what you want.

The size of the pool is up to you to decide. I reommend setting it at 100 or smaller. This way you will have IP's ranging from 192.168.100-199.

You're going to have to disable DHCP on your router then (from the printscreen I see you have a DLink router running dhcp already).

In this setup, your router will act just as a router and DNS server while the box you're setting up with TFTPd will act as the DHCP server and the PXE server (this is recommended since PXE requests and responses are piggybacked on DHCP requests/responses).

Test these setting and see if it works.
__________________

Its a frigging Laptop, not a Labtop!!!!
bla!! is offline  
Old 06-19-2007, 12:28 AM   #5 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Help. I'm trying to install xp through a network

Quote:
Originally Posted by bla!! View Post
If I'm understanding your setup correctly you're installing both a DHCP server and a PXE server on that box.

You're partially correct on your setup if this is what you want.

The size of the pool is up to you to decide. I reommend setting it at 100 or smaller. This way you will have IP's ranging from 192.168.100-199.

You're going to have to disable DHCP on your router then (from the printscreen I see you have a DLink router running dhcp already).

In this setup, your router will act just as a router and DNS server while the box you're setting up with TFTPd will act as the DHCP server and the PXE server (this is recommended since PXE requests and responses are piggybacked on DHCP requests/responses).

Test these setting and see if it works.
you posted this just in time. my head was about to explode. I had just quit and put everything up. I found out that most store bought router wouldn't work (for the reason you just said). now if i disable DHCP, will it hurt anything? will I still be protected? how do I disable
dhcp

thanks
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 06-19-2007, 12:39 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: /usr/root/mn/us
Posts: 1,118
Default Re: Help. I'm trying to install xp through a network

You'll be just fine. The router will still be your DNS server (resolving all names to IP addresses). It will still also function as the NAT server (being that's is the default gateway, or as the tftpd says the default router). All your doing is moving the DHCP server onto that box.

What model is your DLink router? On mine there's a tab in basic setup that says DHCP. In there there's a check-box that says "enable dchp". Uncheck that and you're set. If you can't find it let me know the model and I'll look up how to disable DHCP on it for ya.
__________________

Its a frigging Laptop, not a Labtop!!!!
bla!! is offline  
Old 06-19-2007, 12:41 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: /usr/root/mn/us
Posts: 1,118
Default Re: Help. I'm trying to install xp through a network

Oh, and don't worry, you're hair pulling is just beginning. Configuring the PXE boot image is what drives me nuts! After my company's latest hardware purchace, it took me a full day of testing to find the right NIC drivers to work with my WinPE boot image. (If your hardware is older this is an easier process, especially with a linux boot image)
__________________

Its a frigging Laptop, not a Labtop!!!!
bla!! is offline  
Old 06-19-2007, 03:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Help. I'm trying to install xp through a network

a dlink dir-625 wireless n router. this should disable it, right?



edit. I'm getting somewhere. it say something about no Dhcp or proxydhcp offer were received. that's beat the "no filename found" option.

how do I give an offer?
my tftp

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 06-20-2007, 08:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: /usr/root/mn/us
Posts: 1,118
Default Re: Help. I'm trying to install xp through a network

Did you do this part of the setup?

Quote:
* If you have no working RIS Server and want to build your own easily
(any Windows flavor, even Win 98) :

1. Install TFTPD32. Get it either from Ph. Jumin's web site, either directly here

2. On your future PXE / RIS Server, create the following directory:
o C:\OUTPUT\pxelinux.cfg\

3. In the C:\OUTPUT\ directory, download the following file:
o pxelinux.0

You also need the following files in this directory...
o kernel
o initrd.gz

BUT of course, you don't have to download kernel and initrd.gz again, since they already are in this folder.


# In the C:\OUTPUT\pxelinux.cfg\ directory, create a text file that you'll name default, (not default.txt) containing:

DEFAULT rescue
PROMPT 0
LABEL rescue
KERNEL kernel
APPEND vga=normal devfs=nomount pxe ramdisk_size=70000 load_ramdisk=1 init=/linuxrc prompt_ramdisk=0 initrd=initrd.gz root=/dev/ram0 rw noacpi noapm pci=noacpi lba acpi=off apm=off
What's happening here I believe is that you've got your DHCP lease, but there was no offer piggybacked on it for a TFTP server. According to the log it cannot find the pelinux boot image. Once it can find the pelinux boot image, it will respond back to your client with an IP address for the TFTP server that contains this image, then it will download it and boot from it.
__________________

Its a frigging Laptop, not a Labtop!!!!
bla!! is offline  
Old 06-20-2007, 10:48 PM   #10 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Help. I'm trying to install xp through a network

the guy on their forum told me this

Quote:
Originally Posted by Curtis8
You do have to have dhcp. However, the dhcp options in a store-bought router do not have all the options you need. The options you are looking for are "next-server" and "filename"
These need to be set as follows:
"next-server" = <insert your server's IP address here>
"filename" = "pxelinux.0" (this is with the quotes)

If you do have too much trouble, and have a handy old computer with a little HD and even less RAM, I can tell you how to setup IP-Cop to work as your PXE server. Or even have it as your router to point to your windows PXE server.
So I'm going get a 20-30 dollar computer to do it on
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Boosting range of wireless router with a second unit. Jlagreca Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 06-16-2007 06:17 PM
Conflict between PCI Video card and PCI Wireless Network Adapter otaku_mike Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 06-13-2007 01:01 PM
Wireless Network Collapse (Urgent - Help Please!) Cunjo Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 7 05-21-2007 09:34 AM
Vista install Xandrex New Systems | Building and Buying 2 04-05-2007 04:49 PM
Windows Weakness Could Lead to Network Hijacks Osiris Viruses, Spyware and Malware 0 03-25-2007 10:03 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.