Help if possible (Hyperterminal problem) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-27-2002, 09:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Pat
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 13
Default Help if possible (Hyperterminal problem)

What is happening regards Hyperterminal V 5.6, if that helps any.

Problem is this, I can succesfully connect to my isp, enter my username, but when it requests the password, it will not accept input of any sort, typing on the keyboard, copy-paste, etc. does anyone know why?
__________________

Pat is offline  
Old 12-27-2002, 09:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
<a href="http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f109/folding-home-guide-223396/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/4127/110ad0n.png" /></a>
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv
Default

hmm, are you assuming this because it does not display? I know this may sound foolish, but many servers hide passowrds and look like they are not entering. Try typing it out slowly and correctly the first time and then pressing enter, see if any text displays.
__________________

__________________
\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Old 12-28-2002, 01:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
Pat
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 13
Default

no, I'm assuming this becuase I do as you say, and yet it still says wrong password whatever stuff.

Its very frustrating, I know I have a shell account, I know how to use it, but I can't get to it.
Pat is offline  
Old 12-28-2002, 06:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Pat
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 13
Default

I take back what I said, I DON'T have a shell account, my ISP for some reason tends to think telling people that they have a shell account when the ISP doesn't even provide shell accounts will help them.

No chance in hell I'm continueing with this ISP. Oh well, planned on leaving their crap service anyway.
Pat is offline  
Old 12-28-2002, 06:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
<a href="http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f109/folding-home-guide-223396/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/4127/110ad0n.png" /></a>
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv
Default

lol, sorry about your luck.
__________________
\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Old 12-28-2002, 08:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Pat
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 13
Default

Sucks.....alot, but luckily I'll have a new isp VERY soon, that does provide REAL shell accounts. Not one wtih lying tech support that calls ppp access a shell account...on purpose.
Pat is offline  
Old 12-29-2002, 07:20 AM   #7 (permalink)
Pat
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 13
Default

If it tells you anyhting about whether I fixed my problem or not, I'll just say that my computer doesn't have unix installed and yet I am here using unix...
__________________

Pat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.