Help here plz - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-28-2003, 01:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
AzN
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 97
Default Help here plz

ok im having some serious errors on both my laptop and desktop.
on my laptop i cant seem to run most of the programs i got installed in my laptop IE: microsoft money 2002. i get this error everytime i load it

"The ordinal 6467 could not be located in the dynamic link library MFC42.dll" i dled the missing dll file and place it in the system folder and i still get the same error and i reinstalled the program and even upgrade my xp. anyone know how i can fix this??

other error is on my desktop, when i got search there is no search field listed for me to search like u can see the search field above the dog but i dont see it and my desktop is running on xp pro, and everytime i goto a site it does'nt shows me java scripts on all the sites i goto even on my comp. and my win media play doens't work , saying internal application error has occured, i reinstalled it but still get same error. if anyone can help me out on this i woul really appreciate it thxs.
__________________

AzN is offline  
Old 10-28-2003, 05:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 386
Send a message via ICQ to chesman Send a message via Yahoo to chesman
Default

ok, with your desktop, are you clicking one of the search options? (ie: files and folders, pictures, music, and video, etc)

And are you running abootleg version of winXP? becuase there was a key that was used a long time with bootleg XP disks that does not allow the user to download the winXP SP1, and if you do not have Service pack 1 then you cant suport java or anything of the such. you are going to have to dl the microsoft VM java application individualy from the service pack somehow.

And try upgradeing your media player thourgh the windows update site.


did you alwyas get these errors from the time you installd XP?
__________________

__________________
WinXP Pro
P4 2.5 Ghz/socket 478/400FSB/512L2
512 megs PC800 Rambus
ABIT TH7II-Raid mobo
128MB Nvidia FX 5200 Home Theatre w/TV out and Remote
80 Gig Western Digital/8mb Cache/7200 RPM\'s
20 gig Fujitsu/2mb Cache/5400 RPM\'s
48x40x48/16X Dvd/CD-Burner
chesman is offline  
Old 10-28-2003, 10:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 753
Send a message via ICQ to Lostman Send a message via AIM to Lostman Send a message via Yahoo to Lostman
Default

Run a virus scan. It sounds like you have a bug. To have that many error messeges isn't natural.


Oh wait, we're talking about windows arn't we?
__________________


www.lostman.us
Lostman is offline  
Old 10-28-2003, 01:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
AzN
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 97
Default

yes its windows i think and when your talking about the search field theres nothing listed there for me to search its all blank IE: no files picture folder etc. for me to select. and no im not running any bootleg version of xp on my laptop but on my desktop im running xp pro that i dled. i think its something that i deleted that caused all these errors but im not sure, is there a way to fix this?
__________________
  • Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem 2.66GHz
  • EVGA E758-A1 3-Way SLI (x16/x16/x8) LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard
  • EVGA 01G-P3-1281-AR GeForce GTX 285 1GB 512-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16
  • OCZ Gold 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
  • CORSAIR CMPSU-1000HX 1000W ATX12V 2.2 / EPS12V 2.91 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified
  • Noctua NH-U12P SE2 120mm SSO CPU Cooler
AzN is offline  
Old 10-28-2003, 03:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 125
Send a message via AIM to psychobrigade00 Send a message via Yahoo to psychobrigade00
Default

reload the os IMHO
__________________
----------------------------------------------
@>~~~>~~~
Knight of the Roses
~~~<~~~<@
----------------------------------------------
Asus A7N8X Deluxe
Athlon 2600+ Thoroughbred
Corsair TWINX512-2700LL
GeForce 4 ti 4200 128mb
Maxtor 40gb 7200rpm
plextor 48x24x48
psychobrigade00 is offline  
Old 10-28-2003, 06:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 204
Default

you probably have more than one version of the dll somewhere on you HD...

keep the newest one. . .

see :
http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;317404
gruntwerk is offline  
Old 10-28-2003, 07:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 169
Default

Just wipe it, it get rid of all the Sh1t then dont it :P
__________________
Some System Specs:

Windows XP Service Pack 2
MXD 1600XB
CPU AMD Duron 1.6GHz
Memory 1.46GB DDR400 PC3200
HardDrive 40GB 7200rpm ATA133
Motherboard KM400 Chipset Skt A 333FSB
Graphics Card OnBoard 2D/3D Graphics
Sound Card OnBoard Sound
802.11b Wireless Network Card
Monitor GNR Flat Screen 15\"
Writer Combi - 52x32x52 CDRW + 16x DVD
Modem N/A - LAN 10/100 (Disabled)
Case Midi 300W ATX
Floppy 1.44MB 3.5\"
Keyboard A4TECH Wireless Keyboard
Mouse A4TECH Wireless Mouse
GNR Flat Screen LCD Monitor
97lt2959 is offline  
Old 10-28-2003, 08:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
AzN
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 97
Default

ok thxs alot i got my laptop fixed now thxs to u guys. right now its my desktop that needs help. any suggestions?
__________________
  • Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem 2.66GHz
  • EVGA E758-A1 3-Way SLI (x16/x16/x8) LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard
  • EVGA 01G-P3-1281-AR GeForce GTX 285 1GB 512-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16
  • OCZ Gold 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
  • CORSAIR CMPSU-1000HX 1000W ATX12V 2.2 / EPS12V 2.91 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified
  • Noctua NH-U12P SE2 120mm SSO CPU Cooler
AzN is offline  
Old 10-28-2003, 11:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
AzN
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 97
Default

aight thxs alot for the info i'll try and repair it and see wat happens next.
__________________
  • Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem 2.66GHz
  • EVGA E758-A1 3-Way SLI (x16/x16/x8) LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard
  • EVGA 01G-P3-1281-AR GeForce GTX 285 1GB 512-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16
  • OCZ Gold 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
  • CORSAIR CMPSU-1000HX 1000W ATX12V 2.2 / EPS12V 2.91 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified
  • Noctua NH-U12P SE2 120mm SSO CPU Cooler
AzN is offline  
Old 10-29-2003, 06:43 PM   #10 (permalink)
AzN
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 97
Default

o yea btw is it possible to use win xp home cd to repair win xp pro.?? when u reboot. cause i dont have the winxp pro cd i just dled mines. if not if there a way to repair it?

and i tried to repair it it ask me for admin pw: wich i dont know wat they are talking about.
__________________

__________________
  • Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem 2.66GHz
  • EVGA E758-A1 3-Way SLI (x16/x16/x8) LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard
  • EVGA 01G-P3-1281-AR GeForce GTX 285 1GB 512-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16
  • OCZ Gold 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
  • CORSAIR CMPSU-1000HX 1000W ATX12V 2.2 / EPS12V 2.91 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified
  • Noctua NH-U12P SE2 120mm SSO CPU Cooler
AzN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.