Help! Hard drive imaging - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-13-2007, 09:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 36
Default Help! Hard drive imaging

Well, fun times ahead. Here is the quick run down. We have a computer in my office that is used as a photo database basically, the bosses are way too cheap to upgrade the system to make it more networking and user friendly (plus the company that made the software that it is using went out of business 5 years ago). Now the system is an old windows NT server, and the software it uses will not run over a network or share over a network. The boss wants several other offices to be able to access the photos stored on that system without having to drive to our office and get them. The database program has no exporting features and basically it runs on that system and that system alone and prints to a SCSI printer.

Now, Is there a program that could make a perfect image of that hard drive. I would like to pull the drive out of the system, image it, and be able to put that image on another drive that could go into another system and have it boot. Basically creating multiple perfect "copies" of that one system. It's a tedious process but I have run out of ideas on how to share the information.


Can Acronis do this? Norton Ghost?
__________________

Screamsalvation is offline  
Old 11-13-2007, 09:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: Help! Hard drive imaging

There are many programs that do what you want. I'm not sure of any specifically, but I think Norton Ghost might work. You could try GParted too, but I'm not sure if it can do imaging or just partition copy. I will warn you though, that if you try to change an already installed OS to a different CPU, RAM, video, etc, you may have issues. A Windows install usually gets custom fit to the hardware it's installed on (by adding drivers, setting configuration, etc). When I changed the motherboard/CPU of my Compaq, the Win2k install wouldn't boot because it expected a Celeron 500 and it was running on a Sempron 2600+. You might be able to get it running though.
__________________

__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 11-13-2007, 10:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Help! Hard drive imaging

Sadly Ghost wont. IT is not compatable with Windows NT. It only works on XP or Vista.

Norton Ghost 12.0: System Restore - PC Backup Software

Acronis is not for Window NT either. IT can at least run on Windows 2000 though. With SP4 already isntalled.

Acronis True Image backup pc software system requirements and supported storages

So the major 2 are out. This one might work since it runs on most systems from 98 on.

Drive Image and Hard Disk Backup Software

But if you have a true Window NT OS on there you still might be out of luck on this one as well. For a true Windows NT OS you might need to try this software:

R-Drive Image v.4.0 Download - Drive Image and Disk Backup tool creates disk image files on the fly.

As it is pretty much the only one i can find for a NT based system. Wait found a couple more:

Paragon Drive Backup (Personal Edition) v.7.0 Download - Drive Backup creates the backup of entire hard disk or a part of it.
Paragon Drive Backup Personal v.8.5 Download - Vista compatible solution for real-time hard disk backup, imaging and cloning!
Acronis True Image v.9.0 Download - Complete disk imaging or file backup software for home and home office users.

That last one says Acronis can do NT. But their site says they cant. Might be a little iffy on that one.

Backup Drive Image Software

Taht is the page i haev found most of them. Are you sure it is a Windows NT system not a Windows 2000 system?
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-13-2007, 10:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default Re: Help! Hard drive imaging

Can you slave the drive into another machine and copy the data?
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 11-14-2007, 02:33 AM   #5 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Help! Hard drive imaging

Quote:
Originally Posted by superdave1984 View Post
Can you slave the drive into another machine and copy the data?

I'd go this route
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 11-14-2007, 10:12 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 36
Default Re: Help! Hard drive imaging

Well, I have already slaved the drive up to another desktop and copied over the data. But the problem becomes then that I can not access the program after that. It will either give all kinds of errors. I think the issue with just copying over the data is that this old program is set to run from C:/"program name" and access it's database at D:/hin/"database" and just copying it over messes with the paths. It also seems the program is slaved to the copy of windows and the ID that is put in when installing windows. As if I try and run one part of the program it tells me that it is "not setup to run on workstation ....." Any driver issues I could hopefully bang out slightly if I can just get it running on another box.

Oh another 2 joyous parts of this system and another reason we have been begging the boss to purchase something else. The original maker of the software went out of business in 1995 (yep I thought 5 years ago, found out it was more like 12 today), that leaves no support for this stuff at all. And the second is when the system was setup by the software company that decided to lock everything down on it. You can access the user account where you can run the program, and that is it. No one knows the admin account password or how to get into an admin account on the machine. I managed to sit there one day and guess the admin account password but always get the error "You can not log on interactively".

Makaveli213 - Positive it is windows NT. Was hoping to slave the drive up to one of my xp boxes again and image it that way. Completely remove working inside of NT for the above reasons of no admin account and the user account cant do squat.
Screamsalvation is offline  
Old 11-14-2007, 11:40 AM   #7 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Help! Hard drive imaging

get aloha bob or systemsuite 8 from vcom and tranfer the program over
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 11-14-2007, 12:10 PM   #8 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default Re: Help! Hard drive imaging

What is the name of the database program?
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 11-14-2007, 06:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 36
Default Re: Help! Hard drive imaging

The program is called TFP. It was made by TFP inc. Which apparently sold to a jail management agency that used it for inmate photos called Printrak. I can't find any record of what happened to Printrak though.
Screamsalvation is offline  
Old 11-15-2007, 01:19 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 36
Default Re: Help! Hard drive imaging

Well, I have started looking into VM as a possible solution. Vm converter is able to take a snapshot of the system and it works with Windows NT. Do we have any VMware gurus around here? If I use vm converter on that machine and then vm on another machine, since it takes an exact shot of the files and operating system it should start up EXACTLY how it the windows nt on that box starts up correct? And with vmware the program would think it was running in C: and accessing D: for the database ect. correct?
__________________

Screamsalvation is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!! My hard drive will not boot! ehc68 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 15 01-29-2009 04:33 PM
Imaging hard drive.. biscuiteater Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 06-13-2007 12:06 PM
Hard drive randomly disappearing Gooms9 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 11 05-18-2007 08:19 PM
Hard drive fails File Structure test tropicalfish Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 05-15-2007 01:37 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.