Help formatting, please - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-21-2006, 01:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 51
Default Help formatting, please

I would like to format my pc, theres so much rubbish on it i dont want, i just want to format the lot, i cant seem to get the boot disk to format or get my pc to boot of the disc, ive looked a tutorials but my boot disk is just stuck on A:/ it wont do anything, ive never really formatted before could anyone give me a detailed guide on it please?

Thanks in advance

Kyzou
__________________

Kyzou is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 01:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default

what operating system are you reloading?
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 01:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 51
Default

windows xp
Kyzou is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 01:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default

you can put the winxp disk in, start the computer and reload windows. It will give you an option to format the drive in the setup. good luck.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 01:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 51
Default

"Setup cannot continue because the version of Windows on your computer is newer than the version on the CD."
"Warning: If you decide to delete the newer version of Windows that is currently installed on your computer, the files and settings cannot be recovered."

i cant get past this, even tho it says continue is blanked out, my freind loaded this on and gave me the disc, how can i get past this ?

It says i can boot from disk, but im not to sure on how to order it the boot up, also what other settings need to be changed, like slave , master etc?
Kyzou is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 01:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 51
Default

Any ideas? ive searched the net but not much info on booting from cd
Kyzou is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 01:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default

you are trying to run setup from window. you need to put the disk in the drive and then resart the computer to boot from the disk. try it first if it does not boot from the disk you will need to go into bios and set up the boot order to boot from the cd prior to the hard drive. you do not need to make any master/slave changes.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 01:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

To Boot from the disc follow these Instructions.

Restart the computer, as soon as you do Hit F1, F2 or Delete until the CMOS Setup Screen pops up, then navigate to Boot priority, using the arrow keys change the first boot device to CD-ROM, Save settings to the CMOS by hitting F10, now pop in your Windows XP Disc, When prompted to do so, hit Enter to boot off disc, Allow time for windows disc to "Load" Up, Follow on screen instructions, Delete partition, Full format and Install windows..

All data will be erased, so make sure you have back ups.
Ste is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 02:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 51
Default

ive just tryed it. it just boots normaly, no option at all ive checked the bios options is

1: CD
2: Hard drive
3: Flobby
4: Removables
Kyzou is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 03:45 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

In CMOS Setup there may be many similar screens to that, search around until you find the one where it says Specifically " Boot Priority" Or "Boot Order".

And if you screw something up you can always clear CMOS.

Btw you Have to hit Enter When it Prompts you to Boot off the Disc, if you do nothing it will just boot from the Harddrive....
__________________

Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.