[Help] Format Question - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-21-2005, 07:28 PM   #41 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mrgrim333
Also after feformating via bootdisk... I only have 125gb on my drive... OEM its 224gm, any Idea why?
get the 48bit lba enabler.

it sounds like you have a bootsector virus. now that you have dr dos running right, use powermax quick erase to get rid of it (fdisk won't get rid of a bootsector virus), then reinstall windows. use your xp cd to break your drive into 2 or 3 partitions unless your have your hard drive cd. you can use it to format your drive into 1 224 gig drive. what hard drive do you have?
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 07:32 PM   #42 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 52
Send a message via Yahoo to mrgrim333
Default

Dr. Dos?...

Just becuase im a little slow to all this stuff you have been pitching me let me get this right ...


1: I made a powermax disk
2: I try to run it and it gives me dos version error
3: I get dr. dos
4: Now what...
__________________

mrgrim333 is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 07:36 PM   #43 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mrgrim333
Dr. Dos?...

Just becuase im a little slow to all this stuff you have been pitching me let me get this right ...


1: I made a powermax disk
2: I try to run it and it gives me dos version error
3: I get dr. dos
4: Now what...
win 98 have ms dos. xp have dr dos. you had dos issue at first, them you seemed to have fix the dos issues. so now you should try to use the powermax cd.iso to wipe your drive clean
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 07:37 PM   #44 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 52
Send a message via Yahoo to mrgrim333
Default

Seeings how im boned for cd's... Will a dvd work? And dont I have to have a boot image?
mrgrim333 is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 07:40 PM   #45 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

no use the floppy version
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 07:46 PM   #46 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 52
Send a message via Yahoo to mrgrim333
Default

But its an ISO ... How the heck is that suposed to work... You've lost me, Im sorry for being a nuisance.
mrgrim333 is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 07:56 PM   #47 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

download the floppy file in my sig. it will create the floppy for you
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 08:42 PM   #48 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 52
Send a message via Yahoo to mrgrim333
Default

Done and done.... I dont get dos errors now...
mrgrim333 is offline  
Old 12-25-2005, 11:22 PM   #49 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 32
Default

use a bootable linus operating system from www.linux.com. MEPIS will work well. you can boot and run from the disk and reformat within MEPIS, then install XP using that CD.
BigNate is offline  
Old 12-25-2005, 11:23 PM   #50 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 52
Send a message via Yahoo to mrgrim333
Default

lol....Uhhhh not to burst your bubble dude but I already fixed that. I had to completely wipe my drive and install a differant version of windows..
__________________

mrgrim333 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.