[Help] Format Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-19-2005, 07:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 52
Send a message via Yahoo to mrgrim333
Default [Help] Format Question

My mom's incomitant boyfriend got us the W32.sober.x@mm worm... I need to reformat. Problem is, the virus stays because there is 2 drives in 1... So long story short, I need a formating program that I can use on a cd so its bootable. Links, input, help!?
__________________

mrgrim333 is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 07:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

win2k and xp install provide a option to format before installing
__________________

office politics is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 08:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

Yes I too would use the XP disc. Delete both partitions, recreate new ones format the primary partition, then once windows is booted format the 2nd partition via "My Computer". You could also just have one large drive if you wanted.
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 10:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 52
Send a message via Yahoo to mrgrim333
Default

I know all that windows stuff.... But I need a program to run off the drive.... bootable cd. Because reformatting windows style still leaves me boned.
mrgrim333 is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 11:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

powermax. it's in my signature
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 12-20-2005, 11:47 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

fdisk with a windows 98 boot disk www.bootdisk.com
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-20-2005, 06:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 52
Send a message via Yahoo to mrgrim333
Default

so.... get the 98 boot disc (im running xp) and put it on a floppy (I only got dvd's + my computer has no A' drive) .....

And that should end my computer's existance.. Right?

I need the drive wiped clean.... No ANYTHING on the drive...
mrgrim333 is offline  
Old 12-20-2005, 06:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

No you need to boot with it in and use the DOS command "FDISK" Then boot with your CD.

If CD does not use auto boot use "dir" commands to see your directories and use cd <directory name> to change directorys. Find Setup.exe and start it.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 12-20-2005, 06:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mrgrim333
so.... get the 98 boot disc (im running xp) and put it on a floppy (I only got dvd's + my computer has no A' drive) .....

And that should end my computer's existance.. Right?

I need the drive wiped clean.... No ANYTHING on the drive...
if you have no floppy drive then you cant do it
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-20-2005, 06:56 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 52
Send a message via Yahoo to mrgrim333
Default

....Man that was a pain but.... I now have a Floppy drive... I need further instructions.
__________________

mrgrim333 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.