HELP! Extremely slow computer... what's going on? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-02-2005, 09:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 23
Default HELP! Extremely slow computer... what's going on?

Okay... I don't know what information any of you need about my computer... I also don't really know where to post this message for sure... but my computer is so slow that it has taken me 40 minutes to connect to the interenet and finally load this page. My computer started slowing down like this about two weeks ago. I received a little pop up box thing that said a large download may have caused an error in my hard drive. I tried running some hard drive repair thing and all sorts of stuff... but I'm to much of a noob with computers to really know what needs to be done. It seems every time I open up a program, the problem really takes off. I cannot run microsoft word, MSN, or browse the internet without having to wait excessive amounts of time for everything to load. Anything you can tell me to help, I will appreciate very much. I will check in as often as I can, but as slow as the computer is, it will be difficult.
__________________

JiLLER is offline  
Old 07-02-2005, 09:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Make sure your harddrive have more than 4 gigs of free space.
Get rid of IE and download firefox
Get yourself spysweeper and scan for spyware
Get yourself a good anti virus and scan for viruses
Clear all cookies and cache
defrag your hard drive


Make a backup
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 07-02-2005, 09:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 23
Default

I've done all of the above except clear cookies and caches (Don't know how) and get Firefox (Would take about 7 days to finally download)
JiLLER is offline  
Old 07-02-2005, 10:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Are you a dail up user. And no I want you to use spysweeper not spybot and ad aware go get spysweeper. click on options in IE then clear everything. I also want you to post a hijack this log.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 07-02-2005, 11:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

spybot doesn't work well imho. Get SpySweeper for $30 at any retail store and scan away with it, works extremely well. Also try downloading the free version of Ad-Aware once you update and scan with SpySweeper.
SpySweeper will need some updates to give you the best results, but those shouldn't take very long to download, even over a 56k connection, since it's a very small file.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 07-02-2005, 11:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 145
Send a message via AIM to Tankhead02 Send a message via Yahoo to Tankhead02
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Tyler1989
Make sure your harddrive have more than 4 gigs of free space.
Get rid of IE and download firefox
Get yourself spysweeper and scan for spyware
Get yourself a good anti virus and scan for viruses
Clear all cookies and cache
defrag your hard drive


Make a backup
Sounds perfect, well done Tyler1989
Tankhead02 is offline  
Old 07-03-2005, 12:57 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

What OS are you running?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 07-03-2005, 09:46 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 23
Default

I'm not sure what OS means... Operating System (Windows XP??)?... hehe... I don't have a clue. Yes, I am a dial-up user... but it isn't just internet related things that are giving me problems. Simple things such as just pulling up 'My Computer' or the 'Control Panel' take forever. I've cleared the cookies... I think... and as for getting SpySweeper... Well, that isn't going to be happening any time soon. It takes several days for me to download or install anything at all. However, I am pretty sure that Spyware and viruses aren't the cause of my problem. I will try and figure out how to get the error messages to come back up so I can post them here and then see if you guys can get a better idea of what's going on.
JiLLER is offline  
Old 07-04-2005, 10:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 89
Default

Try disconnecting any USB device that you have just to see if it's causing your problem. For example, a printer or a web cam. Boot up your computer without the printer or any external devices to see if it will boot faster.

Have you tried booting in safe mode to see if it's any better? While in safe mode, do a disk cleanup and disk defrag.
1badtech is offline  
Old 07-04-2005, 10:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Sounds like you to have much system memory. How much do you have? Go to start, control panel, system, general tab and tell us how many mb or gb you have.
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.