help with emule+ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-07-2006, 06:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 15
Default help with emule+

Hi, was wondering if anybody can tell me how i can change my Low ID to a High ID in Emule +. Thnx, want to improve my downloading speed!
__________________

CRAZYCHIC is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 06:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

download speed is download speed there is no sure way to see major results. the only way you would see better results is to change ISP's but that also costs $$$$
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 06:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default low id to high id

If you have a low ID, make sure the XP built in firewall is turned off. To do this, right-click on My Network Places, select properties, right click on Local Area Connection, select properties, choose the advanced tab and then uncheck the box below.

emule xp firewall

If you are still getting a low ID make sure your software firewall is configured to allow eMule access. I recommend letting eMule have full access in your firewall settings. If you want to configure the individual ports, the default ports are:

4662: TCP incoming and outgoing
4672: UDP incoming and outgoing
4661: TCP outgoing
4665: UDP outgoing
4711: TCP incoming

Putting checks beside "Use smart LowID check on connect" and "Safe Connect" in Preferences>Server should help correct a low ID problem.

emule safe connect

Routers can also be the cause of a Low ID if you are not properly forwarding ports. eMule Router and Firewall Help has a detailed section on routers including Belkin, D-link, E-Tech, Siemens Speedstream and Zyxel 650HW. The Official FAQ also has info on routers.

http://www.emule-help.com/id.htm
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 07:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 15
Default

wud it be safe to let emule have full access of my firewall settings...afterall they rdesigned to protect no?
CRAZYCHIC is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 07:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

ya its really not safe but thats how you get a high ID if thats the risk your willing to take.
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.