Help with Email Server - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-11-2004, 04:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 5
Default Help with Email Server

Dear techies...


I work at a college, asst technician. We are experencing problems with our email server. We use microsoft Exchange Server 2000, and Outlook and Outlook Express to handle our email. some boxes are downloading maybe 4 messeges...them time out, when the server shows they have 20+ messeges in their inbox. When you try to Send/Recive, it happens again. Now this only happens on about 3 computers out of 100+. We've tried purging mailboxes and to no avail...any help or path to try would be appreciated. Thanks
__________________

GoldenPharaoh is offline  
Old 02-12-2004, 02:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

Its almost sounds like a permissions setting. In active directory lookup the account names that are having trouble and see what the mailbox account settings are set to.

Also ensure that the account space is adequete and taking effect on the server side as well as the user side. If you bring up the MMC for your enterprise and look up your mailbox stores it will specify the account size for each user. How exactly does that work? Each student has there own E-Mail account?
__________________

Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 02-12-2004, 01:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 5
Default

Well, we checked the settings you suggested, the setteings have not been cchanged from the default settings. Each Instructor,not student, has their own email account and box yes. This is strange indeed, though i do thank you for your and any others help in resolving this matter.
GoldenPharaoh is offline  
Old 02-13-2004, 07:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 60
Default

OOPS... do those 3 computers have "Plaxo" on them either now or ever before? Look for it on add/remove programs if you dont know what it is... its a free download that my salesmen got suckered into downloading as well and caused that same issue....

for starters, try removing the email account out of outlook, close outlook, open outlook and rebuild the email accounts and see if it works... if it does your outlook cache is messed up (due to a program like plaxo)

secondly, in Outlook options, increase timeou to 1 minute from the default setting of 30 seconds and see what happens......
__________________
Seattle Computer and Laptop Repair
http://www.datazingtech.com
Datazing is offline  
Old 02-13-2004, 10:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 241
Default

I am not a techie,just a wise old geezer,but did you contact the people you pay for this email service ? You do get what you pay for.
stan-the-man is offline  
Old 02-25-2004, 03:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 5
Default

well you were right...Plaxo has been on the systems.....any idea of what to do now??
__________________

GoldenPharaoh is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.