Help! Computer won't standby or hibernate! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-03-2006, 10:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 32
Default Help! Computer won't standby or hibernate!

All of a sudden when I click start and go to "Turn off Computer" I only get the options restard and turn off. I used to have the standby and if I pushed shift it could hibernate, option but they are still there but not highlighted if you know what I mean, like it won't let me click them. What went wrong? I have a HP Pavillion a720n.

Thanks
__________________

Ryd3r x is offline  
Old 10-03-2006, 11:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Check the power scheme to see if hibernation is enable. It should be in Display properties, screen saver setting.
__________________

Law is offline  
Old 10-03-2006, 11:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 32
Default

Nope, it doesn't even show hibernate/stand-by as an option...
Ryd3r x is offline  
Old 10-03-2006, 11:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

It's in the screen saver tab, the power button on the bottom, then there's the hibernate tab.
Law is offline  
Old 10-04-2006, 12:00 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 32
Default

I know, that is where I looked the first time. Still isn't an option for hibernate or stand by.
Ryd3r x is offline  
Old 10-04-2006, 01:52 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Wouldn't you like to know?
Posts: 142
Default

Control Panel then Power Options
sir nerdalot is offline  
Old 10-04-2006, 03:17 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sir nerdalot
Control Panel then Power Options
I've done that, I get the Power Options Properties window and I still can't see a hibernate tab.

Maybe I need the driver for it? Because I did recently format my computer. Is there a driver for hibernate/standby mode?
Ryd3r x is offline  
Old 10-04-2006, 08:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 32
Default

Anyone?
Ryd3r x is offline  
Old 10-05-2006, 01:52 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

Looks like your ACPI is crap..hmmm any major changes recently?
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 10-05-2006, 02:13 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Win2kpatcher
Looks like your ACPI is crap..hmmm any major changes recently?
I had windows Vista Beta and didn't like it so I re-installed XP. Maybe the right drivers weren't re-installed?
__________________

Ryd3r x is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.