help appreciated: upgrading from xp home to pro - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-11-2005, 12:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
ainstushar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 88
Default help appreciated: upgrading from xp home to pro

i have xp home with me. i want to upgrade to pro. i have programs like office 2003 and others.

now the problem is if i upgrade to pro. will i still have all the registry settings that i had before installing. b/c my brother uses my computer everyday for word processing, i wish that all the documents and "setting" will remain.

is that possible? the only reason that i want to do this b/c of iis and odbc. is there any other way just to install iis from pro cd without installing the entire os?


help appreciated
__________________

ainstushar is offline  
Old 11-11-2005, 05:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

do an upgrade and not a new instal and everything will remain the same
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-15-2005, 08:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
ainstushar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 88
Default

i can't upgrade it, i have sp2, when i insert pro cd, it tells me that the version on my pc is already newer than the one on the cd.

I tried to boot up and it tells me that installing many OS in one partition may cause some trouble.

There is no such option as upgrade to xp pro.

help appreciated!!
ainstushar is offline  
Old 11-15-2005, 09:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

well then you cant upgrade, you will need to do a clean install
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-15-2005, 12:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
ainstushar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 88
Default

Okay, is there any other way to run iis on XP home?

since i dont want to wipe my HD clean, is there any way?
ainstushar is offline  
Old 11-15-2005, 12:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Can you uninstall SP2 from your machine ?
e: Add/Remove Programs
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 11-15-2005, 02:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

slipstream sp2 on your xp pro cd with autostreamer

http://www.neowin.net/forum/index.php?showtopic=223562

http://www.softpedia.com/get/System/...-SP2-RTM.shtml
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 11-15-2005, 02:42 PM   #8 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: help appreciated: upgrading from xp home to pro

Quote:
Originally posted by ainstushar
is that possible? the only reason that i want to do this b/c of iis and odbc. is there any other way just to install iis from pro cd without installing the entire os?
put the cd in and try it. pick install additional windows components
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 11-15-2005, 04:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

i would slipstream to sp2..

or "get" another copy of pro sp2
talldude123 is offline  
Old 11-17-2005, 12:53 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
ainstushar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 88
Default

what is slimstrem?
__________________

ainstushar is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.