Help! :( - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-22-2006, 01:02 PM   #31 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

64 I beleive but ive seen it on 32mb but it took forever for it to start.....not sure how true it was but thatd what it said
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 04-22-2006, 01:20 PM   #32 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

Okay well the memory is okay I'm guessing because both sticks launch to the same point of failure, it's gotta be the hard disk.

But can I ask what the boot sequence should be before RMAing it?
__________________

Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 04-22-2006, 01:22 PM   #33 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

hdd, cd floppy.....is the usual
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 04-22-2006, 01:25 PM   #34 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

Thanks ...

This sucks, what if the issue isn't the HD and I RMA it for nothing?

Is there any other way to check before I RMA it, because I can't imagine it would let my parition and install the drive for Windows and then not work.
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 04-22-2006, 01:33 PM   #35 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

fdisk it and then format it and then install xp once again. If it does it again its either the hdd, cd drive, or the xp cd you have or a driver that hoses your system. We still have pinpointed the exact cause yet so we dont know for sure.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 04-22-2006, 02:54 PM   #36 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

How do I go about fdisking it? Do you mean reformat the hard disk and then reinstall XP?
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 04-22-2006, 04:33 PM   #37 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

I think that he just missing a step from booting from cd.
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 09:43 AM   #38 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

Hey! I figured out what's wrong, and XP is up and running.

System is fine and stable, finally ...

I just made a stupid mistake in modifying the boot sequence.

Thanks for all your help ... off to game!
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 09:49 AM   #39 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

well tell us what you did
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 12:17 PM   #40 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

he didn't have it set to boot from cd
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.