help!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-23-2005, 04:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3
Angry help!!

hello all i am having a problem with the installation of windows xp pro. when i first boot the pc there is a message that reads:
boot from ATAPI cd-rom: no emulation then it starts the setup this is a freshly formatted hdd now here is the problem after all the installation files have been copied and the pc restarts it DOES NOT continue from where it left off but starts a new process instead. and it has done that a few times already. any ideas??
__________________

cool_jedi is offline  
Old 09-23-2005, 05:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 808
Default

if this is a ide drive-is your bios set to boot the drive. if it is a sata-are you loading the drivers
__________________

derrmc is offline  
Old 09-23-2005, 10:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 469
Default

make sure you have your boot sequence set correctly,,,
__________________
Death has a thousand doors, let's see which one our victim chose.

"There's one thing that you learn on this job, is that human beings are capable of anything"

If you chase two rabbits, you lose them both

You say tomato... I say cause of death
For sale/trade
http://www.techist.com/pc/f40/fully-...r-fs-t-139695/
microsoftne is offline  
Old 09-24-2005, 02:52 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3
Default

the drive is ide and the boot sequence is 1 cd-rom 2 ide hard drive 3 removable device (floppy diskette)i have changed the sequence to make the hard drive primary boot but it still does the same thing.
cool_jedi is offline  
Old 09-24-2005, 03:58 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 656
Default

Try taking the cd out when it boots, and then put it back when it asks.
dnoch is offline  
Old 09-24-2005, 04:08 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

it's booting from CD again, because your CD drive is at 1st boot
change it to hard drive as 1st boot
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 09-24-2005, 12:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 808
Default

what make is the drive and how big
derrmc is offline  
Old 09-24-2005, 02:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3
Default

the drive is 80gb western digital and i have tried both configurations for the boot, would the fact that it says NO EMULATION have anything to do with it and if it does how do i change it.
cool_jedi is offline  
Old 09-24-2005, 03:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 808
Default

http://support.wdc.com/download/inde...id=999&swid=23

delete the partition-boot to the data lifeguard floppy
derrmc is offline  
Old 09-24-2005, 04:04 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 135
Default

take the cd out!!! it will start fine once u restart
__________________

__________________
Pentium 4 630 (3.0ghz)
1 gb PNY DDR2700
ATI 9600XT 128 mb
Hitachi 160 gb
ABIT AS8 Socket T (LGA 775)
bronxblaza117 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.