help - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-22-2005, 05:04 PM   #11 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

NTFS is faster and more secure than FAT32. You just f'ed your system. Reload your o/s.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 09-23-2005, 06:07 AM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 8
Default

i havent got a windows xp installation cd
came pre-installed
can i download it from anywhere or dont u recommend doing so
__________________

bodellinator is offline  
Old 09-23-2005, 09:06 AM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 7
Default

So you formatted your disk to fat32 and now you wanna convert it to NTFS?

With the Partition Magic rescue disks you can change this
LesPaul is offline  
Old 09-23-2005, 10:56 AM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

you can legaly download a windows xp iso, as long as you own the product key...
Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 09-23-2005, 11:29 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bodellinator
i havent got a windows xp installation cd
came pre-installed
can i download it from anywhere or dont u recommend doing so
you don't have any disc like "recovery discs" from the brand of your pc?
LesPaul is offline  
Old 09-29-2005, 10:02 AM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 8
Default

the recovery disk doesnt work
cant access windows and not sure bout the partition magic rescue disks
bodellinator is offline  
Old 09-30-2005, 03:23 AM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 7
Default

oh, what kind of brand pc do you have? because you can give a call to them about a not proper working disc. Hmm it maybe sound stupid: but are putting the disc in it and rebooting the pc?

what is wrong with the rescue disks?
LesPaul is offline  
Old 09-30-2005, 04:13 AM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 8
Default

its a tiny computer from the computer shop
already foned them and they keep telling me to put it in a reboot the comp which i am doing
but its annoying coz im doing a levels and i really need a comp
dont remember being asked to create rescue dosks when i installed partition magic
bodellinator is offline  
Old 09-30-2005, 06:03 AM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 7
Default

you can made them also in xp or any other os (just ask a friend or so to made rescue disks for you on his/hers pc) its needs two disks a boot disk and a operation disk. you can reinstall the pc with another cd of xp (borrow)
__________________

LesPaul is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.