help =[ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-07-2005, 12:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 33
Default help =[

my computer started acting stupid
when i turn on my computer and it load up window xp pro it just shut off and restart over n over, but i see this blue screen. anyone know what this is?
__________________

Findn_Nemo is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 12:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Yes the blue screen is an error message but it could be anything you really have to tell us more based on your info all I can say is pop in your XP cd and restore start up files.
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 12:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

please be more specific..
although if your computer shuts off while loading, it may be getting to hot... check the heatsink
Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 12:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 262
Send a message via AIM to PC Man Brian
Default

Could it be hardware?
__________________
PC Man Brian is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 12:38 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

I suppose it could also be the hardware if so then heat would be the number one suspect as Juice Daddy said but I also cannot rule out the start up files. If it never makes it past the boot screen it may be software related run your XP cd restore start up files. If that doesn't fix the problem please check your computers temp via "them cool tower cases with built in thermometer" or you can check in CMOS.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 01:01 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 94
Default

It's unlikely to be the hardware. If it were then it wouldn't fail so predictably at the same stage.
ever_thus is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 02:27 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 33
Default

i think i kick it to much since it happen. i think i should reformatt
Findn_Nemo is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 05:15 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Could be something in your startup, if you ever get to youu desktop. Try safemode? Last known good config?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 06:09 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 415
Default

how come he needs to make it to his desktop to run last known good?
repeatedly pressing f8 during start up should bring up the list of boot options (this assuming windows isnt completely f'ed and it makes it to the windows bootloader during start up)
__________________
Fear is nothing but the anticipation of pain, be it physical, mental, spiritual or emotional.
specs.
Athlon XP 2200+ oc\'ed @ 1.93ghz
MSI ms-6738
768mb ddr2100
Nvidia mx420 :(
60gig maxtor 7200rpm
Dual boot with Mandrake 10.0 and Win XP Pro sp2
neversleeps is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 06:30 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Well if he gets to his desktop, he can go into msconfig. If not, then he can try safe mode or last known good config
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.