Help!!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-05-2005, 05:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3
Default Help!!!!

Basically my pops has bought this new motherboard from the computer fair rite... we brought it home put all the components from the old computer into this new motherboard. Come to start up the computer it kept on restarting... so we took it into a computer shop and he goes that its gonna cost us £50 to sort it out. Seemed abit dodge to me as I already had installed all the components and he was going on about installing all the drivers when all the drivers are on the cd that came with the motherboard, and then he was going on and on about setting the jumpers? Firstly am I been taken for a ride? Or is there more to building a computer than just installing a few bits here and there.

Secondly I come to installing windows I put in the bootdisk and it goes there is no valid information on the computer at the end, but managed to get to the part where i can type in the cd drive and type setup, but then it goes that i cant install windows in dos? How can I install it then?

and I accidently started format C: on the computer
__________________

aman_s1ngh is offline  
Old 07-05-2005, 06:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

What version of Windows are you trying to install? You do need your harddrive jumpers set correctly. It can be just add components here and there if you know what you are doing. There is a little more to it than that
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 07-05-2005, 06:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Ohh I see about the jumpers then. I'm tryin to install windows xp with service pack 2 that i downloading from a while back.

Formatting on 20%
aman_s1ngh is offline  
Old 07-05-2005, 06:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Or does anyone know how to put any operating system on it? cos I tried putting win 95 on but it came up with a error message.
aman_s1ngh is offline  
Old 07-05-2005, 06:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 262
Send a message via AIM to PC Man Brian
Default

I would never get a computer at a computer fair first off. I choose building my own, which I'm working on. Right now I'm using ehh, a crappy one compared to what I want to get. But hey it's only for Net use.
__________________
PC Man Brian is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.