HELP with 250g hd, only getting 127g - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-22-2007, 07:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Coon Rapids, MN
Posts: 1
Question HELP with 250g hd, only getting 127g

Can some one please help me with my upgraded puter. Recently, I have upgraded to a 1.7ghz tower puter with Windows XP PRO. I noticed that I couldn't change the desktop to 1024 X 768 which I wanted. Unfortunately, I assumed that there was a software issue and attempted to reformat my hd. It wasn't the software I had issues with it was the video card.

After realizing that I had a junk video card in my puter, I installed a much better one.

Unfortunately, it was too late and i had reformatted my hd and now it only sees 127g of my 250g hd.

I don't know if any thing changed in my BIOS on that puter after installed the other video card. I changed it back to the original video card with the same results. Only getting 127g of my 250g hd.


Hoping someone can please help me with my headach....

Ogrestud.
__________________

ogrestud is offline  
Old 10-22-2007, 07:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: HELP with 250g hd, only getting 127g

You're most likely hitting the barrier limit: 137gb barrier
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 10-22-2007, 07:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: HELP with 250g hd, only getting 127g

Upgrade to SP2 then enlarge the Partition using Computer Management
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 10-22-2007, 07:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: HELP with 250g hd, only getting 127g

Upgrade your BIOS or try this

Send big files the easy way. Files too large for email attachments? No problem!
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-23-2007, 11:11 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: HELP with 250g hd, only getting 127g

Its not your bios, its because anything prior to windows XP sp2 will only see 127gb. You need to make a 30ish gb partition, install windows on it, then update past SP2 and just have the machine detect the other 220gb of the hard drive.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 10-23-2007, 12:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: HELP with 250g hd, only getting 127g

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
Its not your bios, its because anything prior to windows XP sp2 will only see 127gb. You need to make a 30ish gb partition, install windows on it, then update past SP2 and just have the machine detect the other 220gb of the hard drive.
That is not true. You can use Windows 2000 with SP2 or later with a drive larger than 127GB. So it isnt just limited to XP SP2.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-23-2007, 03:40 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: HELP with 250g hd, only getting 127g

Ya but who uses windows 2000 at this point. I didnt even consider it as an option to mention.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 10-23-2007, 03:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: HELP with 250g hd, only getting 127g

i still use 2000... my friend used his 320gb HD on it... while he's "obtaining" Vista...
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 10-23-2007, 10:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: HELP with 250g hd, only getting 127g

Actually Windows 2000 is still widely used. There are plenty of businesses out there that have not updated to XP or Server 2003 and still use 2000.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-24-2007, 11:13 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: HELP with 250g hd, only getting 127g

Ya we still have quite a few machines sitting around here with 2000. Just replaced around 140 or so though with new xp machines. But as far as enthusiasts i cant see anyone using 2000.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.