Hello I am new and i got a tricky one if any one wans a go at it - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-11-2004, 11:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 11
Send a message via AIM to ErisSharp
Question Hello I am new and i got a tricky one if any one wans a go at it

ok Well I am new here I found this forum looking for Tech suport on google my computer is doing some thing I never seen before and I dont know really what it could be. it might be software it might be hardware I really dont know I'll start you off with the specs Windows XP Pro fully updated a wail ago I upgraded my ram in my computer but I dont know I dont think its that I think its more in the line of software but i dont know for sure. heres the problem and how it happen about a month ago my computer kept doing this lagging thing where it would freeze for 2 secounds then go really slow then go to normal agein I notice this when I was lisen to media and all of a sudden it started to sound like when you shake a diskman all glichie then the music just stop then started agein it would do this every 6 to 15 minutes when I tryed playing a game the game would just start acting like I was lagging then freeze then go back to mormal every 6 to 15 minutes I got to the point where I started getting pretty damn made at that so I when to start >Accessories >System Tools> System restore and restored it to an earler date it was running fine I had to send my computer out to best buy because of the burner and when it came back a few days letter it started doing the lagging thing and I cant lisen to music or play games barely run IE a metter of fact its doing it now I have norton antivirus and spysweeper all updated and I scanned my system in Safe mode with both so I dont think its spam ware or viruses if any one has any clues please post anything would be help bye for now
__________________

ErisSharp is offline  
Old 02-12-2004, 02:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

Sounds like a video card/sound card problem. I was getting this with a previous system where the system would pause then contiue like you are speaking..I would play a song it would bounce around then be normal. I had a cheap video card in it. I replaced the card and everything worked SMOOTH!! What are yous system specs? We have the OS covered.
__________________

Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 02-12-2004, 07:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 11
Send a message via AIM to ErisSharp
Default

Well my Video Card isnt cheap its the radeon 9700 series P4 2.5 ghz, 125 Gb or ram 80GB HD master and a 10Gb slave HD.
I whish i could just do a system restore but when i got it back from bestbuy all the restore date where gone and the only days i could restore it was 2 days ago witch when i tryed it said it could not be restored...
ErisSharp is offline  
Old 02-12-2004, 04:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

Sound's like somethin's hogging ur memory n' cpu .. Why don't u run Hijack this or Processxp n' post the results here ..

Also have u noticed which process is using up the max CPU power when the system starts lagging
Keep ur task manager open n' watch for a while .. n' u'll notice it
__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 02-12-2004, 06:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 11
Send a message via AIM to ErisSharp
Default

the top 6 processes are svchost.exe 25,000k, msmsgs.exe 22,000k, iexplore.exe 18,000k, spysweepeeper.exe.16,00k, CAPP.EXE 10,800k and explorer.exe 10,200k

and I dont know where to get hijack or english Processxp....
ErisSharp is offline  
Old 02-12-2004, 06:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

U can download Hijack this
Click on Misc Tools .. click on generate startup Logs
After u run it post the log here
__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 02-12-2004, 06:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 11
Send a message via AIM to ErisSharp
Default

wont let me download hijack this got an The page cannot be displayed error...
ErisSharp is offline  
Old 02-12-2004, 06:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

the link works perfectly .. i just checked it again ..
Also get Process Explorer
__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 02-12-2004, 06:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 11
Send a message via AIM to ErisSharp
Default

I still cant get it! can you post it? or is there another srouce? Download.com cant even do it but I can download AIM i think there is something wrong with their server I also downloaded procexp
ErisSharp is offline  
Old 02-12-2004, 07:26 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 11
Send a message via AIM to ErisSharp
Default

on procexp when ever it starts lagging the littel icon on by the clock of the screen turns red.
__________________

ErisSharp is offline  
Closed Thread

« Adware | connecting »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.