Healthy (Unknown Partition) in Windows XP - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-03-2004, 03:50 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 6
Default

I have two physical HD, split into 6 partions, The problem partition is not showing up in My Computer. It does show up in disk management as the healthy (unkown partition). Is there a way to format it to NTFS without losing all the data. It is Fat32 now.
__________________

Aristides1945 is offline  
Old 10-03-2004, 03:54 PM   #12 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

no, if u format everything is gone. I don't know if there is anything u can do. Do u have partition magic? u can check for errors with partition magic. U can slo do a google for partition-restore or something
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-03-2004, 04:25 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

to convert to ntfs type in:

convert d: /fs:ntfs

that converts to ntfs.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 10-04-2004, 01:16 AM   #14 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 422
Default

set it as a active partion in computer manament or with partition magic
vance43211 is offline  
Old 10-04-2004, 01:18 AM   #15 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

doesn't matter, can do in PQmagic or computer managemetn
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-04-2004, 04:53 PM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

you dont need to format it, just use the above convert method to convert from fat to ntfs
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 10-04-2004, 05:15 PM   #17 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by killians45
you dont need to format it, just use the above convert method to convert from fat to ntfs
does the convert method work with 'unknown' partitions?
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-04-2004, 05:21 PM   #18 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

hopefully, but couldn't honestly answer that. he should be able to import a foreign drive. right clicking on the drive should do just that.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 10-04-2004, 05:24 PM   #19 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I am afraid he gets an error saying: "Fat32 not detected, cannot convert" or something
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-05-2004, 04:11 AM   #20 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 808
Default Re: Healthy (Unknown Partition) in Windows XP

Quote:
Originally posted by Aristides1945
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

After upgrading from 98 to xp, my old D: drive now has this delightful name. This was full of important things, photos, documents, and all my MP3's, in all 18.6 gigs of stuff. Is there any way that anyone possibly knows of that can let me access the drive to get this stuff? All of the other drives transfered over fine.
try this,make a bartpe boot disc
__________________

derrmc is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.