Healthy (Unknown Partition) in Windows XP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-28-2004, 11:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 6
Default Healthy (Unknown Partition) in Windows XP

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

After upgrading from 98 to xp, my old D: drive now has this delightful name. This was full of important things, photos, documents, and all my MP3's, in all 18.6 gigs of stuff. Is there any way that anyone possibly knows of that can let me access the drive to get this stuff? All of the other drives transfered over fine.
__________________

Aristides1945 is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 12:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

so your saying you can't even access that d: partition? is it at least visible in "my computer"?

note: how many partitions do you have and how many hd's do you have?
__________________

jaksback is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 05:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

try to rescan for disks.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 09-30-2004, 10:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 17
Default

Try to check the drive listings in the computer managemnt in control panel and scan the drives for error if any !!
emotion11 is offline  
Old 09-30-2004, 10:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 6
Default

It shows up in disk management, as the healthy( unknown partition). It will let me format, which I know I don't want to do.
Aristides1945 is offline  
Old 09-30-2004, 10:52 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 6
Default

Rescaning didn't change anything.
Aristides1945 is offline  
Old 09-30-2004, 12:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

do a google for disk fixer.
or download fix-it utilities, maybe it detects the drive and can fix something!?
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-30-2004, 05:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

have you tried to import it as a foreign disk?
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 02:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 6
Default

How do I import it as a foreign disk and where might I find a free fix it utilitiy?
Aristides1945 is offline  
Old 10-03-2004, 02:03 PM   #10 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/fil...2725&fileidx=1
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.